Skip to main content

History of Text Technologies

This is a guide for locating primary sources which may be of use to the students and faculty in the History of Text Technologies Program.

Welcome!

Welcome to the History of Text Technologies Research Guide! This guide contains information about locating unique and hard to find materials in the University Libraries that may be of use to HoTT students and faculty. Rather than identifying relevant article databases or providing tips on locating secondary sources, this guide's focus is on locating collections of primary resources in vellum, paper, microform and online

Doing Research in Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives welcomes the use of its material by patrons and researchers in our two reading rooms, the Special Collections Research Center Reading Room and the Claude Pepper Library Reading Room. To learn more about visiting SCA, please click on the following link: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/sca/visit

Research Assistance
Researchers are encouraged to contact Special Collections & Archives staff regarding use of Special Collections & Archives materials in class assignments, scholarship, personal research, and general inquiry. For research assistance, please email us at lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.

Researchers can also request in-person meetings with Special Collections & Archives staff. To request an in-person research consultation, please use our online form: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/form/sca/consultation

Instruction Sessions 
We invite instructors teaching at all levels in all departments to consider a class visit to Special Collections & Archives during your course. Visits to SCA locations can include any of the following content, directed by you and/or SCA staff:

  • Active learning with objects from Special Collections & Archives
  • Orientation to FSU Libraries Special Collections & Archives
  • Introduction to archival and/or primary source research
  • Custom sessions built around your course goals and objectives

To place a request for a class visit to the Special Collections Research Center or Claude Pepper Library, please use our online form: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/form/sca/class-visit-request

To further discuss the possibilities of a Special Collections & Archives class visit, place a request for a consultation here: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/form/sca/consultation

FSU Libraries Catalog Advanced Search - https://fsu.catalog.fcla.edu/fs.jsp?ADV=S
The FSU Libraries Catalog is the best source of information on rare books collections. It also includes description of some archival collections, with links out to finer description in the Finding Aid Database (see below).

  • To limit to Special Collections holdings, use Location: “Strozier, Special Collections”
  • Limiting by year (“Published from”) is often useful to Special Collections researchers
  • Filter search results using terms in left-hand column
  • Click through search results to get full records for books or collections
  • Anything mentioning “Special Coll” in Location information is available through the Special Collections Research Center reading room in 110 Strozier Library
  • To request specific books in reading room, use the Title and Call Number (Location)

Finding Aid Database - https://archives.lib.fsu.edu
The Finding Aid Database is the best source of information about our archives collections. 

  • Searches can be limited by record type; keyword, title, creator, and subject; and by date
  • Filter search results using terms in right-hand column
  • Click through search results to get full records for collections or archival items
  • Researchers can browse by topical area by clicking on “Classifications”
  • Most collections available through the Special Collections Research Center reading room in 110 Strozier Library
  • Some collections note that “Users may access this collection at the Claude Pepper Library” - Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
  • To request specific items in the reading room, use the collection title, collection Identifier, and box number (citation)
  • Collections belonging to non-FSUL repositories can be accessed by using the contact information on the Repository’s page

Digital Library - http://diginole.lib.fsu.edu/digital_library
The FSU Digital Library Includes digital copies of Special Collections & Archives items, born-digital collections, and digital objects hosted for other organizations

  • Use keyword search at the top of the screen, advanced search in the tool bar, or click through themed collections to discover digital objects
  • Sort or Narrow results using terms in left-hand column or search within a collection using the search box on the right side.
  • Click through Search Results to get full records and see digital copies
  • Summary tab - see a digital copy
  • Item Description tab - information about the digital object
  • Click through “Subject(s)” to find related digital items
  • Check the “Is Part Of” field to find related items in Special Collections & Archives

Keywords are what we use to search databases, but rarely does a single keyword produce perfect or complete results. Resources may not be described how you expect, and this is why approaching a search with multiple terms will produce the best outcome. 

When formulating keywords, focus on:

  • Identifying the main concepts of your topic or research question
  • Brainstorming synonyms and antonyms
  • Spelling out any words that are abbreviated
  • Avoiding abstract concepts as search terms

Example Search
Research Question: What is the history of the Everglades and how are they a unique ecosystem?
Keywords: Everglades, Florida, swamp, marsh, wetlands, mangroves, ecosystem, flood control, Lake Okeechobee, Florida Bay, cypress, Miami, manatees, alligators, sawgrass, Kissimmee River, biodiversity, coastal prairie, aquifer, environmental restoration

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives spaces are closed to the public at this time. For latest updates on SCA public services, please visit our Services Page or contact us at lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.

Online
lib.fsu.edu/specialcollections
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu
FSU Library Catalog
fsu.catalog.fcla.edu
Use Advanced Search to limit Location to “Strozier, Special Collections”
Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu
FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/digital_library


Rare Books Librarian

Rachel Duke's picture
Rachel Duke
Contact:
Special Collections
Strozier Library
(850) 644-1967
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706