Research Guides: History of Text Technologies: Cloth

Cloth Edition Bindings

During the 19th century, the book industry responded to a greater demand for books by seeking fast, cheap methods for producing books. Vellum and leather had been traditionally used for binding but were costly. To meet new demands, binders opted for cheaper and widely available materials such as cloth. Cloth could be starched and tooled to allow the covers to retain elaborate decorations.

Source: Victoria and Albert Museum blog

Examples from the Collection of FSU Special Collections & Archives

The marvelous wonders of the polar world : being a complete and authentic history of voyages and discoveries in the polar regions
Call Number: Rare ; G625 .M37 1885
Publication Date: Chicago : A.G. Nettleton, 1885.
This is an example of case binding in olive green cloth with an image of polar north in black and gold. It has the same embossed image on upper and lower covers, however, the lower cover is not colored. The black on the spine shows a slight slip in the printing. The cheap pasted endbands are marvelously cheap and terrible.

History of the World's fair : being a complete description of the World's Columbian Exposition from its inception by Truman, Benjamin Cummings
Call Number: Rare ; T500.B1 T8 1893
Publication Date: Chicago ; Philadelphia : Mammoth Pub. Co., c1893.
This is an example of case binding. It has a light blue coated cloth with red, black, and gold. There are cheap, printed endpapers. Only the front and binding are embossed and the rear is left blank.

External Sources for Cloth Bindings

Bookcloth in England and America, 1823-50 by Andrea Krupp; British Library Staff (Contribution by); Bibliographical Society of America Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: General Collection ; Z269.3.C58 K78 2008
ISBN: 9781584562139
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
"Discusses the history of bookbinding cloth in England and America, including its introduction, nomenclature, and observations on bookcloth patterns. Also includes an illustrated catalogue of 248 nineteenth-century bookcloths"--Provided by publisher.

American Book Covers, 1830-1900
llustrates the changes in design and technology of in the production of publishers' bindings between 1830 and 1900. Published by the Library of Congress Binding and Collections Care Division, 1998.
Digital Collection of Publishers Bindings from the Boston Athenaeum
Collection of over 200 examples of publishers cloth bindings.