Research Guides: World War II, 1939-1945: Finding Articles

Article Indexes

Historical Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PAIS Index
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

AfricaBib.org
6 bibliographic databases are included: Africana periodical Literature; African Women; Women travelers in Africa; Islam in Africa; kenya Coast; Water in Africa.
African Studies Abstracts Online (ASAO)
ASA Online succeeds the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre Leiden, published since 1968, first as Documentatieblad, then as African Studies Abstracts (1994-2002) [Not owned by Dartmouth]. It provides a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the African Studies Centre library in Leiden. Chiefly in English, with some Dutch, French and German.

Historical Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. The disciplinary scope of the BAS is in general intended to cover the humanities, the social sciences, architecture and those natural sciences that have strong human components, such as medicine, public health, geology and the environment.
Abbreviation: bas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1971–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PAIS Index
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Historical Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PAIS Index
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
The electronic version of American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with a vast collection of indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries. It can be searched by multiple fields, including author, title, publisher, date of publication, and subject heading. There is also full-record keyword searching.
Abbreviation: absees
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1989–Current
Subjects: History, International Affairs, Linguistics, Literature, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Persée : portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales
Persée's mission is "the digitisation and online distribution of back collections of a vast corpus of periodicals." It provides full-text online versions of back issues of selected French journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Historical Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PAIS Index
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

RAMBI – The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies-compiled from periodicals and from collections of articles-in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages. Coverage 1966 to present.

America: History and Life
Bibliographic database covering the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. America: History and Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
Abbreviation: americahistlife
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1910–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, History, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PAIS Index
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

HeinOnline
HeinOnline provides a searchable format and full-text access to a large and growing collection of legal journals from the time of their inception to a few years before present.
Tutorials:
Training Videos
Training Guides
User Guide (pdf)

Abbreviation: hein
Vendor: HeinOnline
Subjects: Business Legal Studies, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Law, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Provides multidisciplinary indexing of all fields of arts and humanities, including dance, film, radio and television, language, music and literature.
Tutorials:
Web of Science Tutorials

Abbreviation: wokah
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1975–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
Abbreviation: jarc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1942–1945
Subjects: Asian Studies, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources

The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat)
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat)

New York Times (Historical)
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand primary source accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Abbreviation: nythist
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1850–Current - 3 years
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune
Provides a unique historical perspective of the development of Chicago and the Midwest in the 19th and 20th centuries. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to 1849. Updates vary, current coverage 1849-1992.
Proquest HIstorical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution
Provides a unique historical perspective into the southeastern US of the late 19th-early 20th centuries. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to 1868. Current coverage 1868-1984.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
The United States financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news. Updates vary, current coverage 1889-1999.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
"A Freely Accessible Repository of Digitized California Newspapers from 1846 to the Present"

International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
ICON's directory of digitization efforts around the world. List sites and portals by country and if open source or proprietary.
Google News Archive
A source for articles from newspapers. While searching is free, it appears that most of the older material in the archive is only available via subscriptions. This may change, however, as Google's Newspaper Archive Partners Program develops.
World Digital Library (LOC)
A project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. Coverage (800 BC - 2000 AD)
Europeana Newspapers
Currently a prototype that aggregates 10 million historic newspaper pages from partner libraries throughout Europe. Coverage 1618-2016.

Times Digital Archive
Searchable and browsable digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the London Times in PDF files, 1785–1985 and 2015-2019. The PDFs in this database are not transcribed into text, so you may need to search for keywords with unusual spelling for earlier copies. For articles outside of these dates, use the database Times (The London Times).
Abbreviation: tdar
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1785–1985, 2015–2019
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Newspapers and Newswires

Gallica bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France
Includes about two dozen archived French newspapers including Le Figaro (1826-1942) and Le Temps (1861-1942).
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat)
Catalog of digital historical newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.

People's Daily–Renmin Ribao (2 concurrent user limit)
People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For the last 70 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis. Access limited to 2 users.
Abbreviation: renmin
Vendor: Ori Probe Information Service
Coverage: 1946–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires