Skip to Main Content
Reference & Bibliographies
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Select Islamic Studies from the Browse by Subject menu.
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
Designed for readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, the Oxford Dictionary of Islam provides vividly-written, up-to-date, and authoritative entries. The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, providing a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world.
The New Cambridge History of Islam by
Call Number: DS35.6 .C3 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The New Cambridge History of Islam is a comprehensive history of Islamic civilization, tracing its development from its beginnings in seventh-century Arabia to its wide and varied presence in the globalised world of today. The six volumes reflect the geographical distribution and the cultural, social and religious diversity of the peoples of the Muslim world.
Encyclopaedia of Islam - Three by
Call Number: BP40 .E523
Publication Date: 2007- [ongoing]
The Third Edition of Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam appears in segments each year, providing comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.