Research Guides: Middle Eastern Studies: Middle East Politics

FSU Department of Political Science

FSU Department of Political Science

Databases

Business Source Complete
Once in Business Source Complete, select the "Country Reports" link in the green menu on the right side of the screen. Enter your country name, and you will get a variety of results. Please note the "Political Risk Yearbook" result can be especially helpful, you can find them by clicking on the Publisher tab and then selecting "prs group, inc.".
Country Watch
Provides political and economic surveys and on-line updates of the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental news for each of the countries of the world.
Digital National Security Archive
The most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Click on "Collections Guide" to see the collections on the Middle East.
Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Europa World Plus "provides fast, impartial economic, political and geographic background information as well as statistical data for 250 countries and territories. It also includes thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of more than 2,000 international organizations."
Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective)
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Index Islamicus
Produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, the Index Islamicus indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Nexis Uni
Full-text coverage of general news, business, legal, governmental and other topics.
PAIS
Materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Proquest Congressional
Use to locate Congressional material, such as Hearings, Committee prints, reports and CRS reports, which are researched by experts in their field, often at the request of Congress. Also use the Political News tab on the left to search for gambling information from the Washington Post, Roll Call and The Hill.
SAGE Political Science Full-Text Collection

Subject Guide

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy