Research Guides: Middle Eastern Studies: Modern Languages

Subject Specialist

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy

Welcome!

FSU’s Modern Languages Department offers courses exploring the foreign languages and literatures of Arabic, East Asian, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Slavic, and Spanish and Portuguese peoples and cultures. This research guide is intended for students and researchers of such languages and literatures at varying levels. As such, it points to both general and outstanding points to begin inquiry into these Modern Languages and literatures, including books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU libraries.This guide provides general information for the study of foreign languages and literatures. For specialized sources by region or area of study please see one of the following guides:

Key Resources

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Subject coverage:
Anthropological linguistics
Applied linguistics
Descriptive linguistics
Discourse analysis
Language - pathological and normal
Learning disabilities
Nonverbal communication
Phonetics
Phonology
Psycholinguistics

Abbreviation: llba
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Communication, Communication Disorders, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Provides multidisciplinary indexing of all fields of arts and humanities, including dance, film, radio and television, language, music and literature.
Tutorials:
Web of Science Tutorials

Abbreviation: wokah
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1975–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources.
Abbreviation: kanopy
Vendor: Kanopy
Subjects: Film Studies
Type: Streaming Video
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Abbreviation: ehs
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: African-American Studies, Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion, Rhetoric & Composition, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
WorldCat (OCLC WorldCat Discovery) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery provides single-search access to OCLC's catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Abbreviation: wcwc
Vendor: OCLC
Subjects: Indexes & Catalogs
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Middle Eastern Studies

Subject Specialist

Welcome!

Key Resources

Ask a Librarian

Resources at FSU

Guide to Research in Modern Languages

Professional Associations

Credits