From the mega site, WWW Virtual Library, this page links to online sites on the Middle East.
News
In addition to the sources below, please see the:
"News" Tab of the International Studies LibGuide as it lists several databases providing access to international news, including that produced in and about Latin America
Newspapers LibGuide, which lists Contemporary, Foreign, and Historical newspaper collections held at FSU in print, electronic and other formats (such as microfilm). See especially the list of Foreign Newspapers on Microfilm.
Subject Specific Resources for Middle Eastern Studies Searches
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources from 1967-
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment from 1982-
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Europa World Plus "provides fast, impartial economic, political and geographic background information as well as statistical data for 250 countries and territories. It also includes thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of more than 2,000 international organizations."
Abstracts and indexes literature 1964 - date covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450 - present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage: Administration of justice Agriculture, forestry and fishing Banking and finance Business and service sector Culture and religion Economic conditions Education Energy resources and policy Environment Government Health conditions Human rights International Relations Labor conditions and policy Law and ethics Manufacturing and industry Media and communications Military and defense policy Politics Population and demographics Science and technology Social conditions Trade Transportation
Abbreviation: pais Vendor: ProQuest Coverage: 1972–Current Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Provides electronic searching of nine of Standard & Poor’s most popular publications: Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record. This database is an excellent source for corporate and industrial information about Middle Eastern and International companies with activities in the Middle East.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
More General Databases Useful for Research in Middle Eastern Studies
Ebsco's most comprehensive database, holding more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Such content includes that held in Ebsco's Historical Abstracts, listed above.
Provides electronic, full-text access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Provides full-text access to more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-).
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
