Research Guides: Middle Eastern Studies: Primary Sources

Middle Eastern Studies Maps

General maps of Persia 1477-1925 by Alai, Cyrus
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Maps (Oversize) -- GA1261.A43 2010
Publication Date: 2010
An Historical atlas of Islam by William C. Brice under the patronage of the Encyclopaedia of Islam
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Maps (Oversize) -- G1786.S1H6 1981
ISBN: 9789004061163
Publication Date: Leiden: Brill, 1981

Great Britain Foreign Office

These collections include diplomatic reports, dispatches, and telegrams which were originally confidential and subject only to limited circulation within the British government.The Middle Eastern Collections are of obvious use, but links to others may also be relevant for certain projects.

Part I: From the Mid-Nineteenth Century to the First World War
Series A: Russia, 1859-1914
Series B: The Near and Middle East, 1856-1914
Series C: North America, 1837-1914
Series D: Latin America, 1845-1914
Series E: Asia, 1860-1914
Series F: Europe, 1848-1914
Series G: Africa, 1848-1914

Part II: From the First to the Second World War
Series A: The Soviet Union, 1917-1939
Series B: Turkey, Iran, and the Middle East, 1918-1939
Series C: North America, 1919-1939
Series D: Latin America, 1914-1939
Series E: Asia, 1914-1939
Series F: Europe, 1919-1939
Series G: Africa, 1914-1939
Series H: The First World War, 1914-1918
Series I: The Paris Peace Conference of 1919
Series J: The League of Nations, 1918-1941
Series K: Economic Affairs, Cultural Propaganda,
and the Reform of the Foreign Office, 1910-1939

Part III: From 1940 through 1945
Series A: The Soviet Union and Finland
Series B: Near and Middle East
Series E: Asia
Series F: Europe
Series G: Africa
Series L: World War II and General

Primary Source Databases at FSU

The National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. It provides the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. FSU also subscribes to its database, the Digital National Security Archive.

Congressional Universe
Lexis Nexis (Now Proquest) Congressional provides a comprehensive view of congressional action and the behind-the-scenes activity involved in crafting U.S. legislation. It includes the Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC)Committee Prints and CRS Reports (1824-Present), Statutes at Large (1789-present), and the Serial Set Index (1789-1969).
Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)
Provides access to digitized copies of classified Government Documents as they are declassified.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Subscription-based resource linked to the National Security Archive, an independent, non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, which collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive provides the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations. In Library Access only for some collections but the following is available to the public: CRS reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; GAO reports, Inspector General reports, Presidential directives, etc.
New York Times Historical
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York times from its first issue in 1851 to two years before the current date.
The New York Times (2 years ago to present)
The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.