Skip to Main Content
Evidence-Based Practice Tools
For a comprehensive research guide to Systematic Reviews, see here.
- ASHA Practice Portal (from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association)
Provides resources on clinical and professional topics and linking to available evidence to facilitate clinical decision making and increase practice efficiency for audiologists and speech-language pathologists
- Healthy People 2020 Evidence-Based Resources (from the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion)
Systematic reviews relevant to Healthy People 2020 topic areas. Free.
- PubMed Clinical Queries (from the National Library of Medicine)
Provides specialized searches of the PubMed database to retrieve citations identified as systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines. Free.
- PubMed Health (from the National Library of Medicine)
Provides summaries and full-text of selected systematic reviews on the prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions. Enter a keyword to search the site, then on the search results page, refine the search by clicking Article types: Systematic reviews on the left-hand side of the page. Free.
- Campbell Collaboration : Campbell Library : Campbell Systematic Reviews (from The Campbell Collaboration)
Systematic reviews on the effects of interventions within the areas of education, criminal justice, social welfare, and international development. Free.
- SpeechBITE : Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy (from Australia)
- Provides access to the best evidence in speech pathology treatment
- Conduct an advanced search and select "Systematic Review" in the "Research Design" drop-down menu.
- Centre for Reviews and Dissemination Databases (from University of York, UK)
Provides access to over 35,000 quality assessed systematic reviews of health and social care interventions;
summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews and protocols up to March 2015; and over 17,000 economic evaluations of health and social care interventions
- Cochrane Library database (from John Wiley and Sons)
Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EPPI (Evidence for Practice and Policy Information) Centre : Knowledge library (from Social Science Research Unit, Institute of Education, University of London, UK)
Collection of searchable databases of reviews related to health promotion and intervention.
- Evidence Search (from National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence, UK)
Evidence briefing papers and evidence reviews developed by the former Health Development Agency, UK.
- Health Evidence (from McMaster University)
Searchable registry of quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.
Covidence (a Systematic Review software) is available for the FSU community.
The first stage of any evidence-based practice process is formulating an answerable question. This forms the foundation for quality searching. An answerable question has a format that follows the PICO concept. The acronym translates to:
P – Populations/People/Patient/Problem
I – Intervention(s)
C – Comparison
O – Outcome
EMBASE database has a PICO Search mode