Research Guides: *Communication Science &amp; Disorders: How to Find Books, Journals &amp; Databases @ FSU Libraries

Books & Journals @ FSU Libraries

Watch more videos to learn how to discover materials from FSU Libraries

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles with OneSearch (1:02)
Advanced Search in OneSearch (2:12)
Finding Books with OneSearch (1:49)
Requesting Materials in OneSearch (2:58)
Finding Materials from Other Schools with OneSearch (1:28)
Saving Your Results in OneSearch (1:44)
New OneSearch Links (1:36)

How to Find, Access, and Use Ebooks at FSU Libraries (Rev. Fall 2023)

Journals

Top Journals

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology
Brain & Language
Ear and Hearing
Journal of Communication Disorders

The list of journals in Speech & Language; Communication
& Language Disorders; & Autism & Other Disabilities is
available at [Journals, Grey Literature & Dissertations]
page of this guide.

Databases

On the library homepage, click on the [Search Options] tab, then [Databases Search] link.

ASHA (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association) | Research
Some contents are for members only.

ComDisDome This link opens in a new window Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, scholars (authors of books and articles), institutions, and web resources, (with grants to be added soon) in the fields of speech language pathology and audiology from the mid-1960s to the present.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Subjects covered include:
Audiologic management
Audiology
Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC)
Communication mechanism and systems
Electroneuronography (ENoG)
Hearing assessment
Hearing conservation
Hearing impairment
Hearing science
Pediatric audiology
Professional issues
Rehabilitative audiology
Speech/articulation
Speech-language pathology

Abbreviation: comdisdome
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1965-Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window The CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Plus with Full Text research database provides full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional materials included in CINAHL Plus with Full Text include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Training Tutorials for EBSCO Products

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937-Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966-Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences APA PsycInfo covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
Topics include:

Biological and Developmental Processes
Behavioral Neuroscience
Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science/Revue canadienne des sciences du comportement
Developmental Psychology
GeroPsych: The Journal of Gerontopsychology and Geriatric Psychiatry
Journal of Comparative Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Learning and Cognition
Journal of Psychophysiology
Neuropsychology
Psychology and Aging

Clinical
Crisis: The Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention
European Journal of Psychological Assessment
International Journal of Play Therapy
Journal of Abnormal Psychology
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology
Journal of Counseling Psychology
Journal of Latina/o Psychology
Journal of Psychotherapy Integration
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice
Psychoanalytic Psychology
Psychological Assessment
Psychological Services
Psychological Trauma: Theory, Research, Practice, and Policy
Psychology of Violence
Psychotherapy
Rorschachiana
Schizophrenia Bulletin
Training and Education in Professional Psychology

Cognitive/Learning/Education
Dreaming
Journal of Educational Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Psychology
School Psychology Quarterly

Core
American Psychologist
Canadian Journal of Experimental Psychology/Revue canadienne de psychologie exprimentale
Canadian Psychology/Psychologie canadienne
History of Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology: General
Journal of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology
Methodology: European Journal of Research Methods for the Behavioral and Social Sciences
Nordic Psychology
Psychological Bulletin
Psychological Methods
Psychological Review
Review of General Psychology
Translational Issues in Psychological Science
Zeitschrift fr Psychologie

Human Resources/Industrial/Organizational/Management
Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research
Journal of Applied Psychology
Journal of Diversity in Higher Education
Journal of Neuroscience, Psychology, and Economics
Journal of Occupational Health Psychology
Journal of Personnel Psychology

Health
Experimental and Clinical Psychopharmacology
Families, Systems, & Health
Health Psychology
International Journal of Stress Management
Psychology of Addictive Behaviors
Rehabilitation Psychology

Social Psychology and Social Processes
American Journal of Orthopsychiatry
Asian American Journal of Psychology
Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology
Emotion
Group Dynamics: Theory, Research, and Practice
Journal of Family Psychology
Journal of Latina/o Psychology
Journal of Media Psychology: Theories, Methods, and Applications
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
Motivation Science
Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts
Psychology of Men & Masculinity
Psychology of Religion and Spirituality
Psychology, Public Policy, and Law
Social Psychology

Abbreviation: psyapa
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Coverage: 1894-Current
Subjects: Art Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Medicine, Music Education, Psychology, Sociology, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Embase This link opens in a new window International biomedical literature from over 95 countries, including 2000+ journals not indexed in PubMed/Medline.
Abbreviation: embase
Vendor: Elsevier
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

For the data & statistics in Public Health, see our Public Health Guide.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.
Abbreviation: demnow
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Geography, Hospitality, Public Health
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Explore a curated collection of United States statistics in Sage Data. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather.

Abbreviation: dpf
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.
Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962-Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

News aggregators

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), and USA Today (7/1/87–Current). Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank, downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903-Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Factiva (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, includes access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.
Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Abbreviation: dailies
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980-Current
Subjects: Communication
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

Newspapers

New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
See: New York Times 1980-Present Full Text (no images)
See also: New York Times 1923-2017 Full Text PDF
See also: New York Times 1851-2017 Full Text PDF

Abbreviation: nyt
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980-Current
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Tallahassee Democrat This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Abbreviation: talldemo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1999-Current
Subjects: Newspapers
Type: Citation Management, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It is an indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Also see: ProQuest (for today's edition back to Jan 8, 2010) Wall Street Journal Online
Also see: Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition

Abbreviation: wsj
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984-Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires