Research Guides: *Communication Science &amp; Disorders: Databases &amp; Search Tutorials

Databases

CINAHL Ultimate
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Provides full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals dating back to 1937. Also available are Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options. Conduct an Advanced Search, then select "Systematic Review" option in the Publication Category to limit your results to systematic reviews.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready’ and form monthly issues; see publication schedule.
Subjects Covered:
Acute Respiratory Infections (200)
Airways (485)
Anaesthesia (321)
Back (298)
Bone, Joint and Muscle Trauma (278)
Colorectal Cancer (276)
Dementia and Cognitive Improvement (279)
Depression, Anxiety and Neurosis (785)
Eyes and Vision (200)
Heart (209)
Hepato-Biliary (400)
Menstrual Disorders and Subfertility (260)
Musculoskeletal (349)
Neonatal (394)
Neuromuscular Disease (266)
Oral Health (224)
Pain, Palliative and Supportive Care (314)
Peripheral Vascular Diseases (437)
Pregnancy and Childbirth (681)
Renal (245)
Schizophrenia (270)
Skin (296)
Stroke (226)
Upper Gastrointestinal and Pancreatic Diseases (213)
Wounds (208)

Abbreviation: cochrane
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections
ComDisDome
Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, scholars (authors of books and articles), institutions, and web resources, and grants in the fields of speech language pathology and audiology from the mid 1960s to the present. To limit your results to clinical trial, select "Clinical Trial" in the "Publication Type" menu in the "More Search Options."
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Subjects covered include:
Audiologic management
Audiology
Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC)
Communication mechanism and systems
Electroneuronography (ENoG)
Hearing assessment
Hearing conservation
Hearing impairment
Hearing science
Pediatric audiology
Professional issues
Rehabilitative audiology
Speech/articulation
Speech-language pathology

Abbreviation: comdisdome
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1965–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Dissertations & Theses (Florida State University only) (PQDT, ProQuest)
Covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. The full text of dissertations published since 1997 are available in PDF.
Abbreviation: dissertation
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses
Embase
International biomedical literature from over 95 countries, including 2000+ journals not indexed in PubMed/Medline.
Abbreviation: embase
Vendor: Elsevier
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest)
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Abbreviation: health-psych
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases.
Abbreviation: health-well
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires, Streaming Audio
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Subject coverage:
Anthropological linguistics
Applied linguistics
Descriptive linguistics
Discourse analysis
Language - pathological and normal
Learning disabilities
Nonverbal communication
Phonetics
Phonology
Psycholinguistics

Abbreviation: llba
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Communication, Communication Disorders, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more.
Subjects:
clinical medicine
dentistry
education
experimental medicine
health services administration
nursing
nutrition
pathology
psychiatry
toxicology
veterinary medicine

Abbreviation: medline-ovid
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Human Development & Family Science, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
MEDLINE (ProQuest)
Subject coverage:
Behavioral psychology
Clinical psychology
Developmental psychology
Neurology
Personality, Psychobiology
Psychometrics
Social psychology

Abbreviation: medline-csa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1946–Current
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Human Development & Family Science, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

MMY provides coverage from Volume 1 to the present. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Abbreviation: mmyear
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1983–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Public Health, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Testing / Tutorials
Neurosciences Abstracts
Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies.
Subject coverage:
Motor systems
Somatosensory systems
Pain and analgesia
Visual systems
Auditory and vestibular systems
Taste, smell and chemical senses
Electrical and magnetic senses
Sonar, lateral line and other senses
Neuroanatomy, histology and cytology
Neural growth and development
Neurophysiology
Neurochemistry and cell biology
Molecular neurobiology
Neuroendocrinology
Neuroimmunology
Neurogenetics
Neuropharmacology
Neurotoxicology, drugs of abuse
Aging, neurodegeneration and repair
Memory, learning, neuropsychology and language
Alzheimer's disease and other dementias
Experimental neuropathology
Neural correlates of behavior
Neural networks and computation
Neuroimaging techniques
Methods and apparatus

Abbreviation: csa-neuro
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982–Current
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Psychology
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)
Online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. To limit your results to systematic review, select the "Systematic Review" option in the "Methodology" category within the search options.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1805–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM)
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU. To limit your search to systematic reviews, select "Clinical Queries" category under "PubMed Tools."
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ScienceDirect
The electronic full text version of approximately 650 traditional research journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.
Domains:

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Energy
Engineering
Materials Science
Mathematics
Physics and Astronomy

Tutorials:
Online tutorials

Abbreviation: sciencedirect
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1997–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, *General Science, Anthropology, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Ocean Science, Physics, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections"

Every database has the same core functions they like to operate off of, such as using keywords or the Boolean Operators AND, OR, NOT. However, each database vendor designs its databases slightly differently. Taking time to read or watch their help documentation will help you become a power user and speed up the search process. If you need help searching the databases, schedule an appointment with your librarian.

PubMed
CINAHL
- from EBSCO, the database publisher
  Tutorials on Basic Searching and Complete Advanced Searching
  More training videos available here
MEDLINE (Ovid)
- Video tutorials
  - Introduction to MEDLINE on Ovid (18:11)
  - Special Techniques for Advanced Searching (11:37)
Cochrane Library
- Training Hub
  - How to search | How to Get Started with PICO Search | How to use PICO Search
- Cochrane Interactive Learning: Conducting an Intervention Review
Web of Science
- Training courses and videos
Embase
- Quick User Guide
- Video tutorials
  - Getting Started | Using PICO | Disease and Drug Search
Google Scholar
- Search Tips
ERIC
- from the Institute of Education Sciences
  Searching eric.ed.gov
  Sort the videos by "Most Popular" to learn about how to search ERIC using basic and advanced techniques

*Communication Science & Disorders

Databases

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Using Subject Headings to Explore Search Terms

Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) Searching at PubMed (3:06)

from NCBI

MeSH Searching at CINAHL database (4:15)

*Communication Science & Disorders

Databases

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Using Subject Headings to Explore Search Terms

Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) Searching at PubMed (3:06)

from NCBI MeSH Searching at CINAHL database (4:15)

from NCBI

MeSH Searching at CINAHL database (4:15)