Research Guides: United Nations (UN): Home

Welcome to the United Nations (UN) Research Guide

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights. Florida State University Libraries have been a United Nations Depository Library since 1967. Our collection includes both print and electronic resources, available to all FSU Libraries patrons.

About UN Documents: UN Document Symbols
This guide provides an introduction to the components and structure of UN Document Symbols and how you can use them to locate publications.

United Nations Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Digital Library includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open-access publications as well as bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979.
Abbreviation: unbib
Vendor: United Nations
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Government Publications, Open Access
United Nations iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. It provides librarians, information specialists, scholars, students, policy makers, influencers and the general public with a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
Abbreviation: unilib
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Statistics, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, Government Publications, Reports
United Nations Official Document System (ODS) This link opens in a new window
The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.
Abbreviation: unods
Vendor: United Nations
Coverage: 1993–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Public Administration and Policy
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Proceedings, Reports