Research Guides: United Nations (UN): Economic & Sustainable Development

Key Organizations

Databases

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) Statistical Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides free access to country, population and gender, economy, Millennium Development Goals (MDG), transport, and forestry data of Europe.
Resource URL: http://w3.unece.org/PXWeb/en
Abbreviation: unece
Vendor: United Nations
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Environmental Sciences, Geography
Type: Datasets / Statistics
World Trade Organization Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Documents Online provides access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization. The database contains over 140,000 documents in the three official languages from 1995 onwards and is updated daily.
Resource URL: https://docs.wto.org/dol2fe/Pages/FE_Search/FE_S_S005.aspx
Abbreviation: unwto
Vendor: World Trade Organization
Coverage: 1995–Current
Subjects: International Affairs
Type: Government Publications
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development Statistics (UNCTADstat) This link opens in a new window
This statistical database provides extensive coverage of topics including economic trends, foreign direct investment (FDI) in-flows, out-flows, and stocks, population, commodity prices, and many others. Information can be displayed as a chart or graph and be exported easily in several file formats.
Resource URL: http://unctadstat.unctad.org/EN/Index.html
Abbreviation: unstat
Vendor: United Nations
Subjects: International Affairs
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Government Publications

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database(UNComtrade)
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) is considered the most comprehensive trade database that contains detailed imports and exports statistics of close to 200 countries or areas. It concerns annual trade data from 1962 to the most recent year.

IDEAS/Research Papers in Economics (REPEC) This link opens in a new window
IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,300,000 items of research, including over 2,000,000 that can be downloaded in full text."
Currently 14,011 institutions in 232 countries and territories are listed.

Florida State University, Tallahassee

College of Business
Department of Finance
Real Estate Research Center
Department of Economics
DeVoe L. Moore Center
Pepper Institute on Aging and Public Policy

Resource URL: https://ideas.repec.org/
Abbreviation: unrepec
Vendor: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Coverage: 1700–Current
Subjects: Economics
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Open Access
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean Digital Repository (ECLAC) This link opens in a new window
The ECLAC Digital Repository provides access to more than 35,000 digital publications of books, documents, papers and series on various topics from gender affairs to natural resources and infrastructure for Latin America and the Caribbean.
This database covers:
Gender affairs
International trade and integration
Economic development
Production, productivity and management
Social development
Sustainable development and human settlements
Public administration and development planning
Population and development
Natural Resources and Infrastructure

Resource URL: https://repositorio.cepal.org/
Abbreviation: eclac
Vendor: United Nations
Subjects: Cultural Heritage, Economics, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Sociocultural and International Education, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Journal Collections

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean Digital Repository (ECLAC)
CEPALSTAT is the gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC.
World Trade Organization Statistics Database (WSDB)
The WTO Statistics Database allows you to retrieve statistical information on the trade situation, market access situation, trends of aid for trade, trade costs, trade performance and development.
United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) Knowledge Repository
The Knowledge Repository of the Economic Commission for Africa offers unique knowledge and information not available elsewhere pertaining to regional programmes, decisions and resolutions promoting social and economic development in Africa

Other Resources

UNU Sustainable Development Explorer
The explorer allows visitors to explore the ‘who’ and ‘what’ of work being carried out at various UNU institutes around the world, as well as meet experts to learn about how their ideas are generating knowledge to develop solutions to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
World Urbanization Prospects 2018
By 2050, two out of every three people are likely to be living in cities or other urban centres, according to a new United Nations report, highlighting the need for more sustainable urban planning and public services.