Research Guides: Enslavement and Sharecropping in Florida: Home

Image: George Whitfield's list of enslaved people that he owned in Tallahassee, Florida, 1862.

"List of Negroes," January 1, 1862, Box 517, Folder 1, Whitfield Notebook, MSS 0-261, Florida State University Special Collections & Archives. Note: Image citation reflects the record-naming practices of the creator.

Available in our digital library at: http://purl.flvc.org/fsu/fd/FSU_MSS_0261_B517_F001_I001.

What's in this guide?

This guide includes primary sources of enslavement and sharecropping created during the 19th and 20th centuries in Florida that can be found in FSU Special Collections and Archives. The goal of this guide is to aid both historical and genealogical research within the Tallahassee locale and surrounding counties.

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Spring 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm