Skip to Main Content
The rare books collections at FSU Special Collections & Archives comprise over 90,000 volumes of printed materials ranging in date from the fifteenth to the twenty-first centuries. These books represent significant examples from the history of text technology, as well as areas of particular historical, geographical, and sociological importance. This page presents a small portion of our rare books collection including edited volumes of personal accounts, oral histories, and research products of FSU on the subject of enslavement and sharecropping.
George P. Rawick, Florida Narratives
The Florida accounts of the Federal Writers' Project interviews of ex-enslaved people. Of local interest are the narratives of Douglas Parish of Monticello, Matilda Brooks of Monticello, Patience Campbell of Monticello, Florida Clayton of Tallahassee, Bolden Hall of Jefferson County in Walkino, Louis Napoleon of Tallahassee, Margrett Nickerson from Jackson, Leon county, Acie Thomas of Jefferson county, Shack Thomas near Tallahassee, Willis Williams of Tallahassee, Miami's ex-enslaved (Annie Trip of Thomasville GA).
Secondary sources in Special Collections
Slavery in Florida by
Winner of: * The Black Caucus of the American Library Association Nonfiction Book Award * The Tampa Bay Historical Society's D. B. McKay Award * The Florida Historical Society's Rembert Patrick Award for Best Book in Florida History "This is the definitive account of slavery in Florida. It covers all aspects of the institution and the lives of those who were its victims. Especially revealing are its thorough examination of the slave family and its detailed account of the relations between black slaves and Seminole Indians. I know of no other state study that does as much so well."--George M. Fredrickson, Edgar E. Robinson Professor, Stanford University "Applying the results of extensive research in the primary and secondary sources to a broad conceptual framework, Larry E. Rivers has written a comprehensive social history of slavery in Florida."--Jerrell H. Shofner, Professor of History Emeritus, University of Central Florida "A highly significant study. . . . Rivers has brought Florida up to date in the field of American slavery. This study, well-written and based on a variety of sources, is balanced and informative."--William W. Rogers, professor emeritus of history, Florida State University "Rivers has filled a tragically neglected gap in Florida's published history. The evolution and complexities of slavery unfold from an easily readable narrative in a manner that will move the reader and shed new light on a key element of southern and African American history."--Canter Brown, Jr., historian in residence, Tampa Bay History Center This important illustrated social history of slavery tells what life was like for bond servants in Florida from 1821 to 1865, offering new insights from the perspective of both slave and master. Starting with an overview of the institution as it evolved during the Spanish and English periods, Larry E. Rivers looks in detail and in depth at the slave experience, noting the characteristics of slavery in the Middle Florida plantation belt (the more traditional slave-based, cotton-growing economy and society) as distinct from East and West Florida (which maintained some attitudes and traditions of Spain). He examines the slave family, religion, resistance activity, slaves' participation in the Civil War, and their social interactions with whites, Indians, other slaves, and masters. Rivers also provides a dramatic account of the hundreds of armed free blacks and runaways among the Seminole, Creek, and Mikasuki Indians on the peninsula, whose presence created tensions leading to the great slave rebellion, the Second Seminole War (1835-42). Slavery in Florida is built upon painstaking research into virtually every source available on the subject--a wealth of historic documents, personal papers, slave testimonies, and census and newspaper reports. This serious critical work strikes a balance between the factual and the interpretive. It will be significant to all readers interested in slavery, the Civil War, the African American experience, and Florida and southern U.S. history, and it could serve as a comprehensive resource for secondary school teachers and students. Larry Eugene Rivers, President of Fort Valley State College and professor of history, is the author of numerous works, and the recipient of the Arthur W. Thompson Award from the Florida Historical Society and the Carter G. Woodson Award from the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.
Call Number: E445.F6 R58 2000
Publication Date: 2000-11-13
The Croom Family and Goodwood Plantation by
One of the most elegant mansions in Florida, Goodwood was built in the late 19th-century. It was once the centre of a thriving plantation founded by the Croom family of North Carolina. This is the story of the family and their legacy.
Call Number: F319.T14 R65 1999
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
The Red Hills of Florida, 1528-1865 by
The Red Hills section of northern Florida is composed of Leon County, where Tallahassee is located , and its neighboring counties of Gadsden and Jackson to the west and Jefferson and Madison to the east. This well-written narrative chronicles the history of the region from the time of first European contact in 1528 through the end of the Civil War, and provides a comprehensive study of this vital section of northern Florida.
Call Number: F317.R43 P35 1989
Publication Date: 1989-04-30