Research Guides: Citation Guide: APA 7th

APA Style: 7th Edition (2019)

Image of the APA Publication Manual, seventh edition

APA is commonly used to cite sources in the social sciences fields
such as psychology, education, and more. This guide will
provide you with basic information on how to make
in-text citations and entries in your Works Cited page.
For more in-depth information, please consult a copy
of the official APA Handbook.

APA Handbook (7th Edition) Locations:

3 copies at Strozier Library Course Reserves;
3 copies at Dirac Science Library Course Reserves
1 copy at Music Allen Library Course Reserves
Ebook is available for purchase or rent from two vendors.

Academic Writers Tutorial: Basics of the 7th edition of APA
An interactive tutorial from the APA for teaching and learning effective writing.

Source: https://apastyle.apa.org/instructional-aids/reference-examples.pdf

Other Useful Sources on APA 7

Reference Examples, including information on DOIs and URLs
- Common Reference Examples Guide (PDF file)
Reference List: Electronic Sources
In-Text Citations, including quotations and secondary sources
Tables & Figures
Data Set References
Clip Arts or Stock Images
Other Audiovisual Media and Online Media (such as YouTube videos or Social Media posts)
- Reference List: Audiovisual Media (from Purdue OWL)
Report by a Government Agency or Other Organization
Citing Legal References
- The Bluebook
- Citing Court Decisions (from APA Style)
- Government & Legal References (from U of Washington)
Citing Business Sources
- APA 7th Edition Citation for Business Sources
  Citation examples from specialized business databases such as ABI/INFORM, Business Source Complete, eMarketer Pro, Mintel, NexisUni, Statista, etc.

How to Cite AI Tools in APA

If you intend to use and cite AI-generated content for course assignments, first consult with your instructor. Instructors have varying opinions about how or whether students may use ChatGPT or other Generative AI tools. Use the following format to cite ChatGPT. For detailed information on how to cite AI in APA style, please check this APA blog post, How to cite ChatGPT, created on April 7, 2023.

To quote or reproduce the text generated by ChatGPT in your paper:

In-text Citation	Reference
(OpenAI, 2023)	OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (Mar 14 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat

To put the full text of long responses from ChatGPT in an appendix or in online supplemental materials:

In-text Citation	Reference
(OpenAI, 2023; see Appendix A for the full transcript)	OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (Mar 14 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat

To create a reference to ChatGPT or other AI models and software:

In-text Citations	Reference
Parenthetical citation: (OpenAI, 2023) Narrative citation: OpenAI (2023)	OpenAI. (2023). ChatGPT (Mar 14 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat

Reference List

Books

Type of Source

Reference List Citation

Edited book

Format:

Editor, A.A. (Ed.). (Year of publication). Title of work. Publisher.

Example:

Romano, A. J., & Marincola, J. (Eds.). (2019).

Host or parasite?: Mythographers and their contemporaries in the classical and Hellenistic periods. De Gruyter.

Article or chapter in an edited book

Format:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In A.A. Editor & B.B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pages of chapter). Publisher.

Example:

Bonn, M. A. (2003). Employee service quality issues: Meeting the needs of our internal customers. In Salih Kusluvan (Ed)., Managing employee attitudes and behaviors in the tourism and hospitality industry (pp. 433-452). Nova Scientific.

Electronic-only book

Format:

Author, A. A. (Year of Publication). Title of book. http://www.someaddress.com/full/url

Example:

Fahm, A. (2019). Introduction to financial mathematics: Concepts, and computational methods.

http://fsu.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fsu%3A717221

Articles

Type of Source	Reference List Citation
Article in a periodical (journal/magazine) **If articles from a library database are “easily located, do not provide database information. If the article is difficult to locate, then you can provide database information.” (from Purdue Online Writing Lab)	Journal Format: Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. Journal Example: Zhao, T., Bell, L., Horner, M. W., Sulik, J., & Zhang, J. (2012). Consumer responses towards home energy financial incentives: A survey-based study. Energy Policy, 47, 291-297. Magazine Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Periodical, issue number, pages. Magazine Example: Banks, H. (1993, April 26). Soak the lower middle class! Forbes, 151(9), 37.
Newspaper article	Print Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, page(s). Print Example: Brown, P.L. (2017, June 23). When a Brooklyn Graveyard can't expand outward, it looks within: [metropolitan desk]. The New York Times, p. A.22. Electronic Format: Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper. http://www.someaddress.com/full/url Electronic Example: Sifferlin, A. (2015, September 30). “Washing dishes is a really great stress reliever, science says.” Time. https://time.com/4056280/washing-dishes-stress-relief-mindfulness/.
Article from online periodical (no DOI)	Format: Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Publication Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number if available), page(s). http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/ Example: Weissert, C. S. (2004). Promise and perils of state-based road to universal health insurance in the U.S., Journal of Health Care Law & Policy, 7(1), 42-69. https://digitalcommons.law.umaryland.edu/jhclp/vol7/iss1/3
Article from online periodical (DOI provided)	Format: Author, A.A., Author, B.B., & Author, C.C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number, pages. https://doi.org/xxxx Example: Constantino, C. D., Manning, W. J., & Nordstrom, S. N. (2017). Rethinking covert stuttering. Journal of Fluency Disorders, 53, 26-40. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jfludis.2017.06.0

Other

Type of Source	Reference List Citation
Entire web site	Format: In APA style there is no need to include an entry for an entire web site in your reference list as long as you identify the source clearly in the text of your paper. Example: The Purdue University Online Writing Lab was extremely helpful in understanding the differences between APA and MLA styles (http://owl.english.purdue.edu/).
Dissertations or Theses	Format: Author, A. A. (Year). Title of dissertation [Format]. Name of Institution Awarding the Degree. Example: Kroto, H. W. (1964). The spectra of unstable molecules under high resolution [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. University of Sheffield. Gutbezahl, B. (1952). Acid dissociation and acidity in the ethanol-water system [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. Florida State University.
Data set	Format: Author, A. (Year Created). Title of data. [Format]. Publisher. http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/ Example: Bales, W. D. (2018). Florida State University and Florida Department of Juvenile Justice research partnership projects, 2002-2017 (ICPSR 36972) [Data and code book]. ICPSR. https://doi-org.proxy.lib.fsu.edu/10.3886/ICPSR36972.v1

In-Text Citation

Books

What You Are Citing

In-Text Citation

Entire work

Parenthetical Citation:

(Baumeister, 2010)

Narrative Citation:

Baumeister (2010)

Specific page or part of a work

Parenthetical Citation:

(Bakan, 2019, p.111)

(Bakan, 2019, Chapter 3)

Narrative Citation:

Bakan (2019, p.111) noted that

Multiple works

Parenthetical Citation:
(De Giorgi, 2019; Jones & Lin, 2019; Mazza,
2003)
(Lowe, 2014, 2018)

Narrative Citation:
De Giogi (2019), Jones and Lin (2019), and
Mazza (2003)

Lowe (2014, 2018)

List entries in alphabetical order

Online article with no page numbers

Parenthetical Citation:

(Mayers, 2009, paras. 2-3)

(Southerland et al., 2016, Discussion, para.1)

One author

Reference List:

Feiock, R. (2013)

Parenthetical Citation:

(Feiock, 2013)

Narrative Citation:

Feiock (2013)

Two authors

Reference List:

Paek, I. & Cole, K. (2019)

Parenthetical Citation:

(Paek & Cole, 2019)

Narrative Citation:

Paek and Cole (2019)

Three or more authors

Reference List:

Darling, C. A., Olmstead, S.B., Lund, V. E., &
Fairclough, J. F. (2008)

Parenthetical Citation:

  (Darling et al., 2008)

Narrative Citation:
Darling et al. (2008)
  Only the first author plus "et al." for first and
  subsequent citations

Group author

Reference List:

American Library Association. (2019)

Parenthetical Citation:
First Citation

(American Library Association [ALA], 2019)

Subsequent Citations

(ALA, 2019)

Narrative Citation:
  First Citation
  American Library Association (ALA, 2019)

Subsequent Citations
  ALA (2019)

No author(s) listed

Reference List:

None to claim their bones: Relics of an old Brooklyn graveyard. (1888, April 21). The New York Times, pp.3-4.

(“None to Claim Their Bones,” 1888)

If the title contains a colon, only use the text
before the colon in the in-text citation.

Undated sources

Parenthetical Citation:
(King, n.d.)

Narrative Citation:
King (n.d.)

Citing a source within a source

Reference List:

Arpan, L. M., & Raney, A. A. (2003). An experimental investigation of news source and the hostile media effect. Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly 80(2), 265-281.

Parenthetical Citation:
(Gunther, 1992, as cited in Arpan & Raney, 2003)

Your in-text citation gives credit to the second source