Research Guides: Nursing: Start Your Research HERE

Find and Borrow

Find and Borrow
Access OneSearch for items owned by the FSU Libraries; access UBorrow and Interlibrary Loan to search for and request items owned by other institutions.

Finding FSU Resources

Database Tutorials

Nursing Databases

All Nursing Databases
Browse all nursing databases or access a selection of recommended databases below.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Ultimate provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. PICO (Patient, Population, or Problem; Intervention; Comparison; Outcome) searching is supported.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Embase This link opens in a new window
International biomedical literature from over 95 countries, including 2000+ journals not indexed in PubMed/Medline.
Abbreviation: embase
Vendor: Elsevier
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Collection of medical books & journals, and a proprietary search engine for MEDLINE. Includes 68 medical books and thousands of video, audio, and image files.
Tutorials:
Ovid Tools & Resources Portal

Abbreviation: ovid
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Coverage: 1946–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Microbiology, Medicine, Nursing
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video