Research Guides: Russian & East European Studies: Getting Started

Welcome!

This research guide is intended for students and researchers in Russian and Eastern European Studies of all levels. It lists general resources including books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries.

Related Guides:

Key Resources

American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies This link opens in a new window
ABSEES Online is the online version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES). It has multiple search fields including author, title, publisher, date of publication, and subject heading. There is also full-record keyword searching.
Abbreviation: absees
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1989–Current
Subjects: History, International Affairs, Linguistics, Literature, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)
This database contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. The new unified database with about 85.500 titles has been developed by the Berlin State Library in cooperation with the Maison des Sciences de l´Homme, Paris. For the years 1975-1990 EBSEES is available in printed form only. Work on adding records to EBSEES ended in 2007, and no further editing will take place after December 2007. (Open Access Tool)
The Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore
An freely available repository of Russian literature and literary criticism. Created and maintained by the Gorky Institute of World Literature an the Informregistr Center at the Russian Ministry for Communications.
Central and Eastern European Library (CEEOL)
Provides access to both OA and "pay per download" of articles, e-books, and grey literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences. You can register for an Open Access CEEOL account in which you will only see free materials.
Virtual LIbrary of Eastern Europe (ViFaOst)
Interdisciplinary portal for Eastern European Studies includes journal title list, internet resources, and links to other relevant Eastern European portals and databases.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Subject coverage:
Anthropological linguistics
Applied linguistics
Descriptive linguistics
Discourse analysis
Language - pathological and normal
Learning disabilities
Nonverbal communication
Phonetics
Phonology
Psycholinguistics

Abbreviation: llba
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Communication, Communication Disorders, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Russian & East European Studies

Modern Languages & Linguistics Librarian

Transliteration of Non-Latin Alphabets

Professional Associations

Welcome!

Key Resources