Research Guides: Art Education: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' Art Education Research Guide

Catalogue Tips and Tricks

These are my recommendations for your best bets in researching Art Education topics. For additional links and resources please see the navigation bar on the left side of this research guide.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Abbreviation: eas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1914-present
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library more than 1.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars, and students at a variety of institutions including universities, colleges, museums, public libraries, and K-12 schools. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research.

Tutorials:
Using ARTstor
Training videos on YouTube

Abbreviation: artstor
Vendor: ARTstor
Subjects: Archaeology, Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Classics, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Images
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966-Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Use the Library of Congress Classification Outline to browse for books in your subject area. Here are some examples in Art Education and the studio arts to get you started:

AM --- Museums, Collectors, and Collecting
L --- Education
LA --- History of Education
LB --- Theory and Practice in Education
LC --- Special Aspects of Education
N --- Fine Arts
NB --- Sculpture
NC --- Drawing, Design, and Illustration
ND --- Painting
NE --- Print Media
NK --- Decorative Arts
NX --- Arts in General
TR --- Photography
TT --- Handicrafts, Arts, and Crafts

The following are just a few subject headings that may be used when searching the Libraries' catalog:

Art
Art and society
Art appreciation
Art in education
Arts -- Study and teaching
Children with disabilities
Children's art
Community education
Curricula
Education
Education -- Art
Education -- Art Education
Education, Elementary
Museums -- Educational aspects
Museums and community
Museums and schools
Multicultural education
Philosophy
Special Education -- Art
Visual Arts -- Arts Education
Visual education

http://beets1278.blogspot.com/2012/10/boolean-logic-is-not-logical.html

These FSU Research Guides may be of interest to your research; a full list of guides can be found here. Each guide will also include contact information for the subject librarian in that area of study: