Celebrated American painter, Andrew Newell Wyeth was born on the 12th of July 1917. Andrew Wyeth showed significant artistic promise at an early age and received formal art training under his father's tutelage. Wyeth had early success with his art and is well-known for his painting Christina's World. He is also well-remembered for his Helga series. Having mainly worked in tempera and watercolors, his painting style was known its realism. He was sometimes noted as a magic realist as his work was finely detailed, with a focus on ordinary scenes that had underlying evocative content. Many of his paintings were landscapes that centered around his homes in Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania and Cushing, Maine. His career spanned more than seven decades.
An incredibly useful database, this resource provides brief biographical details of artists, along with extensive galleries of their work and auction information for their sales. The Ringling Museum has a subscription to this service, through which students on site can access this information for free.
This website is maintained by the offices of Andrew Wyeth. It contains a timeline of the artist's life, research information, his full catalogue raisonne, as well as information regarding image permission.
This museum contains the largest collection of his father's, N.C. Wyeth, art, but chronicles the family's artist tradition and houses a significant collection of Andrew Wyeth's work as well. They recently hosted a retrospective of the artist's work on the 100th anniversary of his birth.
This website showcases the home and studios of famous artists. It includes tours of the home and studio of Andrew Wyeth, as well as biographical details on his life.
The National Gallery of Art's website contains biographical details of Andrew Wyeth's life, along with his full catalogue raisonne, gallery images, and video footage of the artist with discussion of his work.
