Brokaw, Tom, et al. One Nation: Patriots and Pirates Portrayed by N. C. Wyeth and James Wyeth. Bullfinch Press and Little, Brown Co., 2000.
- A fascinating look into the oldest and youngest generations of the Wyeth family, this exhibition catalogue contains essays with significant biographical information with critical analysis of the artists' impact. The catalog also has extensive prints and a detailed list of lenders to the exhibition. Hosted at many fine art museums, this exibition was displayed at the John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art from October 11th, 2001 to January 6th, 2002.
Call Number: Ringling ND 237 .W94 A4 2000
Duff, James H., et al. An American Vision: Three Generations of Wyeth Art: N. C. Wyeth, Andrew Wyeth, James Wyeth. Little, Brown, & Company, 1987.
- An extensive exhibition catalog to accompany the same-named traveling exhibition featured in museums across the United States from March 11th, 1987 to November 22nd, 1988. The exhibition finished at the Brandywine River Museum, the hosting organization. The catalog includes extensive essays, one of which is by the artist Andrew Wyeth on his father, N.C. Wyeth, biography for each artist, and original photographs. In addition, there is a checklist for all paintings with descriptive detail (dimensions...etc.) and a brief bibliography.
Call Number: Ringling ND 237 .W94 A4 1987
Hyland, Douglas K. S. and Howard P. Brokaw. Howard Pyle and the Wyeths: Four Generations of American Imagination. Memphis Brooks Museum of Art, 1983.
- A catalog for an exhibition of the same name, the exhibit traveled to the Memphis Brooks Museum of Art, Montgomery Museum of Fine Arts, and the North Carolina Museum of Art from September 1st, 1983 to April 1st, 1984. The catalog gives biographical detail on each of the artists, but focuses on the influence of Howard Pyle and the Brandywine school on N.C. Wyeth and the long-term impact on the Wyeth painting tradition. The catalog contains numerous color plates.
Call Number: Ringling N 6536 .H94 1983
May, Jessica, et al. N.C. Wyeth : New Perspectives. Brandywine River Museum of Art, 2019
- A catalog for an exhibition of the same name, the exhibition comes from the collection of the Brandywine River Museum of Art, where it showed from June 23rd to September 15th, 2019. It then traveled on to the Portland Museum of Art and the Taft Museum of Art. A recent review of the artist's work, it contains extensive bibliographies and a catalog of the artist's paintings and illustrations, along with numerous new essays.
Call Number: Strozier Library ND 237 .W94 M39 2019
Michaelis, David. N. C. Wyeth: A Biography. Alfred A. Knopf, 1998.
- A well-researched text, this biography compiles private papers, correspondence, unscripted manuscripts, artists' interviews, oral histories, and primary source material from books, periodicals, magazines, and video recordings. This very detailed account covers the entire life of the artist, the evolution of his painting, and his impact on the art world.
Call Number: Ringling ND 237 .W94 M53 1999
---., et al. Wondrous Strange: the Wyeth Tradition: Howard Pyle, N.C. Wyeth, Andrew Wyeth, James Wyeth. Little, Brown, & Company, 1998.
- A collection of essays from a long list of art history contributors, including David Michaelis, Susan C. Larsen, Stephen T. Bruni, Betsy James Wyeth, Theodore E. Wolff, and Chistopher Crosman. The text discusses the family's artistic origins, each generation's art education, and their colorful careers over the better part of a century. With large-scale color plates, the text also has a brief bibliography.
Call Number: ND 237 .P94 A4 1998
Wyeth, N. C. The Wyeths by N.C. Wyeth: The Intimate Correspondence of N.C. Wyeth 1905-1945, edited by Betsy James Wyeth. Gambit, 1971.
- This text spans a forty-year period of correspondence between N.C. Wyeth with family, friends, colleagues, and artists. An intimate portrayal of the late artists's life in his own words, as well as insight into the lives of his son, Andrew Wyeth, and his grandson, James Wyeth. The letters are annotated with commentary from his wife Betsy. The text also contains a famiily tree, family photographs, a bibliography and a multitude of llustrations and color plates.
Call Number: ND 237 .W94 A3
