Skip to Main Content
Literary and Artistic Works
This category includes significant works by well-known women writers and artists. FSU's Special Collections contains a number of early editions by well-known women writers. The collection also includes Artists' books, which are are publications that have been conceived as artworks utilizing the form of the book. This page introduces a selection of literary works by women as well as artists' books that focus on women.
My Own Story by
Call Number: Rare ; JN979 .P26
Publication Date: 1914
Emmeline Pankhurst was a British political activist who organized the UK suffragette movement. This text contains her illustrated autobiography.
28 days: a deck of card by
Call Number: Rare (Small) ; N7433.4.N458 A713 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Enclosed are 28 photographic cards with images that metaphorically represent some of the emotions and physical sensations of the menstrual cycle. Medical text is intermixed with the artist's personal statements about her cycle. The cards are a blend of mystery, honesty, and humor, presented with the hope that they can open discussion on this universal, but practically invisible female experience.
Wild girls redux: an operator's manual by
Call Number: Rare ; N7433.4.K58 W55 2009
Publication Date: 2009
A revisit of an earlier work: the original book, How to Become One of the Original Wild Girls, was designed and printed in 1997. That book is a playful list of imaginary 'rules' that 'should' be followed to achieve Wild Girl status. The rules are light-hearted, but they have the sting of recognition that most women realize to be sexist in nature. Wild Girls Redux reexamines these issues, using motorcycle road and driving rules as text along with images of pin-up girls and industrial schematic illustrations. The intent of the "Operator's Manual" is tongue-in-cheek and provides the ordinary, mechanical, and absurd rules of how to operate women"
American breeding standards by
Call Number: Rare ; N7433.4.K58 A44 2013
Publication Date: 2013
American Breeding Standards explores the systemized rules about what comprises a good or bad horse, a good or bad woman--and the steps one might take to achieve the breed standard"
Sources from the General Collection
American Women Writers, 1900-1945 by
Call Number: PS151 .A45 2000
Publication Date: 2000
This reference includes alphabetically arranged entries on 58 American women authors who wrote between 1900 and 1945. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and discusses a particular author's biography, her major works and themes, and the critical response to her writings.
The Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature by
Call Number: PN471 .B57 1992
Publication Date: 1992
This reference features over 5,000 A-to-Z entries on thousands of individual authors from the classical period to the middle ages to the present, detailed descriptions of works, and thematic entries on literary genres used frequently by women.