Research Guides: Political Science: 3. Sources in Library Databases

Off-Campus Access

Access from Home?

The Florida State University Libraries provides off-campus access to subscription databases, e-journals, and e-books to all those directly affiliated with FSU. This includes all current student, staff, or faculty.

Systematic downloading of electronic journal articles or database content is a violation of library contracts and copyright laws. Users who violate this policy risk having their library access suspended and access to the product blocked for all FSU users.

Please login at this site using your FSUID and password.

Library Databases

Declassified Documents Reference System
Classified Government Documents as they are declassified.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years. Some journals included are: American Journal of Political Science, 1973+, American Political Science Review, 1906+, British Journal of Political Science, 1971+, Comparative Politics, 1968+, Foreign Policy, 1970+, International Affairs, Journal of Politics, 1939+, etc.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text coverage of general news, business, legal, governmental and other topics. Also called Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe. Also called Academic Universe.
NewsBank InfoWeb
A Web-based collection of primary source information from regional, national and international newspapers, newswires, government and international documents, regional business journals and, periodicals.
UN Treaty Collection
Includes online versions of the print publications: Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, which incorporates the detailed status of over 485 multilateral treaties.
United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISnet)
Catalogue of UN publications and documentation indexed by the United Natiions Dag Hammarskjold Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are non-UN publications held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjold Library.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.
Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering all research and subject areas. ProQuest gives you access to current and historical documents from sources like these:
Newspapers
Dissertations and theses (ProQuest is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress)
Scholarly journals
Television and radio broadcasts
Wire service and press releases
Company annual reports and snapshots
Books
Government documents and archives
Maps

Abbreviation: pquest
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses, E-Book Collections, Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs, Newspapers and Newswires
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This database combines many of CQ's most well-known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
Tutorials:
Overview (04:03)

Abbreviation: cq
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Coverage: 1923–Current
Subjects: Communication, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health
Type: Directories, Government Publications, Reports

Data Research Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy