Research Guides: Russian & East European Studies: Finding Books

Browsing the Stacks

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges for Browsing:
HC10-1085 -- Economic History and conditions
PC601-872 -- Romanian language & literature

PG1-499 -- Slavic philology and languages (general)
PG500-585 -- Slavic literature (general)

PG801-1146 -- Bulgarian language & literature

PG1201-1749 -- Serbo-Croatian language & literature

PG1801-1962 -- Slovenian language & literature

PG2001-2826 -- Russian language

PG2900-3698 -- Russian literature

PG3801-3987 -- Ukrainian language & literature

Ask a Librarian

Catalog Search

Ebook Collections

Central and Eastern European Library (CEEOL)
Provides access to both OA and "pay per download" of articles, e-books, and grey literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences. You can register for an Open Access CEEOL account in which you will only see free materials.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library contains millions of books digitized from library collections across the country. FSU users have access to many full text documents and can create new collections of material. To learn how to log into HathiTrust using Shibboleth see our guide to HathiTrust (http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/hathitrust).
Oxford Scholarship Online
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,100 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks is a collection of over 30,000 recently published ebooks consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books. Compatible with all mobile devices, no separate app is required.
Tutorials:
Training Tutorials for EBSCO eBooks

Apps:
EBSCOhost Mobile Applications (website)
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)
Downloading EBSCO eBooks to Your Mobile Device (03:38)

Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=nlebk
Abbreviation: netlibrary
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a web-based ebook lending platform from ProQuest which is capable of delivering a rapidly expanding catalogue of ebooks to academic and research libraries.
Resource URL: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/fsu
Abbreviation: eblibrary
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections

Find Books @ Other Libraries

Books in libraries other than FSU may be requested through UBORROW or Interlibrary Loan. FSU students and faculty may personally check out books from any state university or community college library in Florida by using their FSU card.

UBorrow
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested. Start by searching the FSU catalog, then click on the blue UBorrow icon at the top of your search results. Select the book you want and click on the blue UBorrow link again to request it.

WorldCat (OCLC WorldCat Discovery) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat (OCLC) contains over 40 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more, representing holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe.
Resource URL: https://floridastateuniversity.on.worldcat.org/advancedsearch?databaseList=283
Abbreviation: wcwc
Vendor: OCLC
Subjects: Indexes & Catalogs
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and journal articles from libraries around the world. Use ILL to request materials not available at FSU.