Research Guides: Company Research: Marketshare

Market share represents the percentage of an industry, or market's total sales, that is earned by a particular company over a specified time period. Market share is calculated by taking the company's sales over the period and dividing it by the total sales of the industry over the same period.

Market share information about a company is often covered in trade journals and magazines. Consequently, one strategy you can use to find this type of information is to search article databases like ABI/Inform Complete or Business Source Complete using the following search: name of company and "market share"

IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
1. Search for an industry in the search box in the middle of the page
2. Once in the report, select the Major Companies tab for market share.
Abbreviation: ibisworld
Vendor: IBISWorld
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Reports
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Most Mintel market reports include information on market share.
Industries covered include:
Automotive
Beauty
Consumer Electronics
Digital Media
Drink
Financial Services
Food
Foodservice
Health & Wellness
Household
Personal Care
Packaging
Retail
Sport & Entertainment Travel & Tourism

Tutorials:
Interactive Databook Training (10:39)
A 10-minute tutorial video on how to navigate Interactive Databook, how to explore demographics, and customize your own consumer data report.

Abbreviation: mintel
Vendor: Mintel International Group
Coverage: 2001–Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Reports
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new window
1. Search in the Industry Surveys: Select and industry, click the PDF icon to open the report.
2. To find "Market Share" for an industry, use the windows commands "Control + F" to open a search screen within the PDF industry report. Click to each occurrence of the phrase "market share".
Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1. In the first search box, type in your company or industry
2. To the left of the results, find the Source Types section and look for Market Research Reports. Industry profiles often include this information as well.
OR
2. To your initial search, add "market share" (in quotations) to the second search box
3. Read through the results to see what information you find
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
1. Click on Market Share Reports from the drop-down menu available from the Industries link.
2. Use search box look for company's or product's name, then click on the links on the search results page to find various market share and/or ranking information.
Abbreviation: bcrc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Historical / Primary Sources, Indexes / Catalogs, Newspapers and Newswires, Reports
RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books that provide marketing data and statistics on a variety of industries and consumers.
Abbreviation: rkmabk
Vendor: Richard K. Miller & Associates
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Sport Management
Type: E-Book Collections