Skip to Main Content

United Nations (UN)

The United Nations (UN) guide was created to assist with research using UN information and resources.

Documents available online

According to the United Nations, the following items are available online: 

  • All UN documents from 1993
  • All resolutions of the Principal Organs from 1946
  • Security Council plenary documents from 1946
  • General Assembly Official Records (GAOR) from 1946, including
    • Meeting records of Plenary and Main Committees
    • Supplements 
    • Annexes
  • Economic and Social Council Official Records (ESCOR) from 1946, including
    • Plenary meeting records
    • Supplements
    • Annexes
  • Trusteeship Council Official Records (TCOR) from 1946, including
    • Plenary meeting records
    • Supplements
    • Annexes

Special series that have been digitized include:

  • Charter of the United Nations (39 languages)
  • Report of World Social Situation (1952-1993)
  • United Nations Blue Book Series (1994-1996)
  • United Nations Conference on International Organization documents (San Francisco Conference, 22 volumes)
  • UN Statistical Yearbooks  (1948-2017)
  • Yearbook on Human Rights (1946-1988) 

Databases

UN documents are available online through:

  • the United Nations Digital Library, the online catalog of UN documents and publications
  • the Official Document System (ODS), which includes documents not collected by the Library
  • the UN iLibrary, which includes publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
  • the Florida State University Libraries Catalog, includes the location of print and digital UN publications and resources.
  • If you have a United Nations Document Symbol, the easiest way to download a document is to add the symbol after the following url:http://undocs.org/.
    • http:undocs.org/ + A/RES/67/1
    • http://unodcs.org + Symbol

Also, look at the UN Databases and Indexes pages on this guide for more topic-specific databases and resources.

Browsing our UN Collection

FSU Library UN collection on the "Ground Floor, Row 145-148, Oversized Documents Row 151"

Go to the Florida State University Libraries Catalog and search for our UN holdings in print and digital format

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706