Research Guides: Center for Hispanic Marketing Communication: Home

Welcome!

This research guide was created for FSU's Center for Hispanic Marketing Communication. In this guide, we hope you find helpful resources on Hispanic-Americans and Latinos in the context of marketing communication. Resources for Hispanic Marketing Communication (ADV 5415) and Multicultural Marketing Communication (ADV 5416) classes were also featured here.

Key Resources

Ad Age This link opens in a new window
Ad Age is a resource for advertising and marketing industry news, with data on marketers, ad campaigns, and advertising spending by company and industry-wide. To access: 1) create an Ad Age account; 2) enter your @fsu.edu email; 3) select Check Eligibility; 4) register for an account. FSU has access to the Ad Age Digital Edition and Data Center.

Abbreviation: adage
Vendor: Crain Communications
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Marketing, Statistics
Type: Datasets/Statistics
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886-Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields. Content includes more than 440 full-text journals, Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 670 journals, and 5,500 author profiles.
Abbreviation: cmmc
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Marketing
Type: E-Journal Collections
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.
Abbreviation: demnow
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Geography, Hospitality, Public Health
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps
Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Insider Intelligence is a definitive source of independent analysis based on vetted and transparently sourced data. The platform gives users access to the latest content from Financial Services, Retail & eCommerce, and Digital Marketing.
Abbreviation: emarket
Vendor: Insider Intelligence
Coverage: Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
Industries covered include:
Automotive
Beauty
Consumer Electronics
Digital Media
Drink
Financial Services
Food
Foodservice
Health & Wellness
Household
Personal Care
Packaging
Retail
Sport & Entertainment Travel & Tourism

Tutorials:
Interactive Databook Training (10:39)
A 10-minute tutorial video on how to navigate Interactive Databook, how to explore demographics, and customize your own consumer data report.

Abbreviation: mintel
Vendor: Mintel International Group
Coverage: 2001Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Reports
MRI Simmons Catalyst (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a consumer intelligence and discovery platform that provides information on consumer behaviors, brand consumer messaging, cross-channel marketing, and media planning tactics.
Tutorials:
Introducing Simmons Insights (4:52)

Abbreviation: insi
Vendor: MRI Simmons
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) This link opens in a new window
This database includes information about advertising and rates in all types of media sources. FSU has access to Claritas360, demographic and behavioral insights for all 210 Designated Market Areas (DMAs), including county level data; Multicultural & Inclusive Media, search media properties by the audiences they serve; Digital Networks & Ad Tech, digital insights and content overviews for websites and networks; and Newspapers, circulation and page rates for local and national papers.
Abbreviation: srds
Vendor: SRDS
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Marketing, Statistics
Type: Datasets/Statistics

Hispanic Marketing (from AdAge)
Pew Research Center: Hispanic Trends
Latino Data Project Reports provides thematic data on the Latino populations of the U.S. (from Center for Latin American, Caribbean & Latino Studies at CUNY Graduate Center)

Login to Geoscape

Intelligent software that provides geodemographic data on Hispanic Markets in the US.
Information on the user id and password of this program is available for the students enrolled in ADV 5415 Hispanic Marketing Communication (Prof. Chapa) at the course syllabus.

Center for Hispanic Marketing Communication

Communication Librarian

Follow Us/Like Us!

Related Guides

Welcome!

Key Resources