Skip to main content

Nursing

Guide to Finding Resources in Nursing

Databases & Effective Searching

Databases

AccessMedicine

Updated daily, McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data.

ACP Medicine (Scientific American Medicine)

ACP Medicine is the first comprehensive internal medicine reference to carry the name of the American College of Physicians.

Ageline

Citations and abstracts of books, journals, research reports, consumer guides, and book chapters from 1978 - present.

AIDSinfo

AIDSinfo offers access to the latest, federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines, HIV treatment and prevention clinical trials, and other research information for health care providers. researchers, people affected by HIV/AIDS, and the general public. 

AIDSource

AIDSource offers access to a comprehensive collection of HIV-related resources on topics including living with HIV, HIV prevention and treatment, HIV statistics and surveillance, HIV and pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) navigation, and more, in both English and Spanish. All resources are reviewed and selected by experts information specialists and librarians.

ClinicalKey
               Definitions and diagnosis of diseases.

Cochran Reveiws

Full-text systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare.

DynaMed

A database by medical topic or condition with links to articles; includes description, ICD-9 Codes, etiology, diagnosis, treatment and patient information.

eMedicine

This extensive drug reference includes the following modules and monographs searchable from a single search interface.

Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.

ERIC (FirstSearch)

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Coverage from 1966 -present.

Essential Evidence Plus

Evidence-based medicine database of information which includes the following searchable resources: Griffith's 5-Minute Clinical Consult, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, evidence-based practice newsletter, drug information, treatment guidelines and critical appraisals of primary care literature.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments

Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests).

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, etc.

Immunology Abstracts

Topics include all aspects of immune systems in man and animals, in normal functions and disorders from 1982 to present.

MEDLINE (FirstSearch)

Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, and nutrition from 1965-present

MEDLINE (Ovid)

Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more from 1965-

MEDLINE (PubMed)

Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more. Coverage from 1965-present

Natural Medicine

This is a database of natural medicine products.

NLM Gateway

The NLM Gateway allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Pediatric Care Online

This highly respected resource from the American Academy of Pediatrics integrates many different pediatric resources for quick access.

PubMed

               National Library of Science database (citation, abstracts, some full text) to 16 million journals.

R2Library

The R2Library, developed by Rittenhouse, contains the full text of a number of searchable medical books with all images, tables and graphics included.

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Knowledge)

A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

The directory contains 350 quality controlled scientific and scholarly electronic journals that are freely available on the web. The service will continue to grow as new journals are identified. The directory resides at Lund University and is supported by the Information Program of the Open Society Institute and SPARC (The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition).

Journals@Ovid Ovid Full Text

Scientific, medical & technical-related research; full-text emphasis is biomedical, nursing, and psychology-related research.

Nursing Journals at FSU

PsycARTICLES

Provides full text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations mostly since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.

ScienceDirect

The electronic full text version of approximately 650 traditional research journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines. From 1997 to present.

Wiley Interscience Journals

The online content service from John Wiley & Sons delivering the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals

Find Full Text

Often databases and indexes only provide a citation.  To find the full text of an article:

  • Click  "Find it @ FSU" in a database  or "Find it @ FSU" in Google Scholar to be automatically redirected.
  • Enter citation information into FSU's Citation Linker.
  • Search the Library Catalog for the title of the journal.  The catalog record may have a link to the journal's e-text or list of print holdings.
  • Request the article through Interlibrary Loan

Google Scholar Search

Search partial and complete citations in Google Scholar for fast connection to chemistry resources both online and in the University Libraries catalog.

Related guide: Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706