Research Guides: Resources for Voice Students: What's a Boole?

Music Quick Links

Allen Music Library Home Page

Frequently Used Resources

Academic Search Complete
A general periodical index that includes music and interdisciplinary topics among many others.
Chicago Manual of Style ONLINE
Dissertations and Theses
Google Scholar with FSU full-text links
Google Scholar can be a useful searching tool, particularly when it checks against the electronic full text holdings at FSU. This link requires you to log in with your FSU e-mail information-- but it's worth it!
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service where a student, faculty, or staff of Florida State University may obtain books or obtain photocopies of articles from other institutions.
JStor
Main Campus printing plus print drivers
Download drivers to your computer; you can then send a print job to a campus printer and release it/print it on campus!
Music Index Online
Indexes major music periodicals from 1970 to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies
Great resource to target the top readings and resources on specific topics.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Choose "Music"
Oxford Music Online
Great first stop for composer, genre, period, instrument information and more. Article bibliographies get you to the next step in your research. Includes Grove Music and other relevant titles.
more...less...
Contains Grove Music and more.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Chicago Manual Style
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
The main scholarly index to articles about music.

Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
includes Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed., Grove Opera, and more
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Resource URL: http://www.oxfordreference.com/
Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
includes music titles
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Resource URL: https://academic.oup.com/pages/oxford-scholarship-online
Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Style Guides

Turabian, Kate. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. Rev. by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams. 7th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007. Music Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
The Chicago Manual of Style. 16th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010. Music Ref Z253.U69 2010 Also available online.

And, Or, Not and those pesky Venn Diagrams

Remember these intersecting circles from High School Geometry? They're BACK! It's a Venn Diagram. Think about the words you search as being in a Venn Diagram. That can help you form effective searches in library resources (pssst, and Google too!).

See the capitalized words (AND, OR, AND NOT)? These are called Boolean operators. In resources like the library databases, the library catalog, and Google, you can use those words to narrow or broaden your search.

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Laura Gayle Green

Email Me

Contact:

Allen Music Library
College of Music, FSU
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306

850-644-3999

Subjects: Music