Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Marine Biology

Internet Resources for Background Information

NOAA Ocean Explorer
NOAA Central Library
Ocean Portal (@ Smithsonian Institute)
ReefBase: A Global Information System for Coral Reefs
Check out its Global Database on Coral Reefs for country-level coral reefs information.
FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes

Electronic Resources

These are a selection of databases available online through FSU, but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in biological science. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Biology Databases" link. Please contact the subject librarian for Biological Sciences if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources This link opens in a new window
All aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues.
Tutorials:
ProQuest ASFA LibGuide

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: bsir
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1978-Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources
ndexes 900+ international scholarly journals and other publications in physical and chemical oceanography and limnology, marine geophysics, geochemistry and geology, marine technology, ocean policy, and nonliving resources.

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Marine and freshwater aquaculture abstracts. Aquaculture-related information focuses on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species.
Tutorials:
ProQuest ASFA LibGuide

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: aquaabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984-Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Marine biotechnology, molecular biology, and molecular genetics. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.
Tutorials:
ProQuest ASFA LibGuide

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: mta
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1978-Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers oceanic science and nautical engineering including biological oceanography ecology physical and chemical oceanography marine geology geophysics geochemistry marine pollution nonliving marine resources navigation and communications maritime law desalination ships shipping and marine biology.
Subject coverage:
Biological Oceanography
Ecology
Physical and chemical oceanography
Marine geology
Geophysics
Geochemistry
Marine pollution
Nonliving marine resources
Navigation and communications
Maritime law
Desalination
Ships
Shipping
Marine biology

Abbreviation: oceanic
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1964-Current
Subjects: Oceanography
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Sea Turtle Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research (ACCSTR) at the University of Florida has developed the "Sea Turtle Online Bibliography." This online bibliography includes all aspects of sea turtle biology, conservation and management. Citations are from recognized bibliographic sources as well as "grey literature." (http://accstr.ufl.edu/resources/online-bibliography/)
Abbreviation: seaturtle
Vendor: FALSC
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Oceanography
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Zoological Record is the world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology. Use this database to determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species, track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes, and keep up on all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
Abbreviation: zoorec
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1993-Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Earth Science, Environmental Sciences, *General Science, Oceanography
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Selected Marine and Aquatic Biology Journals

Highly Cited Marine and Aquatic Biology Journals

Other Journals Recommended by your Professors

Government Agencies

Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) are also available through the EPA National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) process.
National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) Information A good location to search Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). A search is also available through ProQuest through the "Agricultural & Environmental Science" database.
NOAA Fisheries (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA)
U.S. EPA Beaches (Environmental Protection Agency)