Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Computational Biology

Selected Bioinformatics Journals

Electronic Resources

These are a selection of databases available online through FSU but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in biological science. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Biology Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Biological Sciences if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.

GenBank
GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences (Nucleic Acids Research, 2013 Jan;41(D1):D36-42). GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration , which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.

INSPEC (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
INSPEC contains over 15 million bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics. Access ends December 31, 2024.
Abbreviation: inspec
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1969–Current
Subjects: Engineering, Material Science, Physics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
The Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man: An Online Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders

PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

RefSeq: NCBI Reference Sequence Database
A comprehensive, integrated, non-redundant, well-annotated set of reference sequences including genomic, transcript, and protein.
Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB)
The Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB) is powered by the Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive-information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.