Skip to main content
Current News in Biological Sciences
Welcome to the FSU library biology research guide. This is a LibGuide dedicated to navigating the various biological databases, journals, and articles provided by Florida State University (FSU) Libraries. Please take a look around. There are many resources available and if you have any questions, your subject librarians are happy to help. Our main STEM Library location is Dirac Science Library. FSU's main library is the Robert M. Strozier Library.
Some Useful links:
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biology, biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science1982 to present.
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
A bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology techniques, and environmental biology.
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Web of Science*
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text. Previously know as Web of Knowledge.
A Clarivate Analytics database.
Zoological Record is the world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology. Use this database to determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species, track taxonomic and nomenclature changes, and keep up on all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
STEM Research and Data Librarian