Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Microbiology

Current News in Microbiology

Electronic Resources

These are a selection of databases available online through FSU but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in biological science. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Biology Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Biological Sciences if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.

Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) This link opens in a new window
For the benefit of researchers working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens, this database separates out all the relevant studies in the literature and organizes them in one source for easy reference. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants. Previous issues have summarized articles on vaccine development for malaria, environmental impact of algal blooms genetic engineering of Saccharomyces, Pneumocystis pneumonia in AIDS, bioenergetics of flagellar motility, and other current topics. With subsection abstracts arranged taxonomically or easy location of articles relevant to specific microorganisms, Algology, Mycology and Protozoology is a convenient and time-saving resource for microbiologists as well as research professionals in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: ampabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Medicine, Nursing
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) This link opens in a new window
Medically-oriented coverage in bacteriology with topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. Covers clinical findings as well as aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: bacteriology
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982–Current
Subjects: Medicine, Microbiology
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) This link opens in a new window
Index to findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries are assembled in this database. (Microbiology A)
Abbreviation: iama
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1981–Current
Subjects: Nursing, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Selected Microbiology Journals

Highly Cited Microbiology Journals:

Review Journals

E-Journals for Higher Eukaryotes