Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Home

Current News in Biological Sciences

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU library biology research guide. This is a LibGuide dedicated to navigating the various biological databases, journals, and articles provided by Florida State University (FSU) Libraries. Please take a look around. There are many resources available and if you have any questions, your subject librarians are happy to help. Our main STEM Library location is Dirac Science Library. FSU's main library is the Robert M. Strozier Library.

Some Useful links:

Introductory Resources

Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Biological Science Collection offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biology, biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Tutorials:
ProQuest Biological Science Collection LibGuide

Abbreviation: bio-sci
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982-Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds—microbes, plants, and animals—interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
Abbreviation: ecology
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982-Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Zoological Record is the world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology. Use this database to determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species, track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes, and keep up on all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
Abbreviation: zoorec
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1993-Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Earth Science, Environmental Sciences, *General Science, Oceanography
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Subject Librarian

Kassidy Hof-Mahoney

(she/her)

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering