Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Botany

Botany in the News

Electronic Resources

These are a selection of databases available online through FSU but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in biological science. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Biology Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Biological Sciences if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.

AGRICOLA
The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database covers journal articles, monographs, theses, microforms, audiovisuals, software and technical reports. It consists of two data sets: National Agricultural Library (NAL) Online Public Access Catalog and Article Citation Database. Each data set may be searched separately, or together. Coverage from 1970 to the present.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: agricola
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1970–Current
Subjects: Earth Science, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Ecology Abstracts
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds—microbes, plants, and animals—interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
Abbreviation: ecology
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982–Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Botanical Societies

Suggested Journals

High Impact Journals in Plant Sciences:

Taxonomy

USDA PLANTS Database The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
AlgaeBase AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. At present, the data for the marine algae, particularly seaweeds, are the most complete. It also includes sea-grasses, even though they are flowering plants.
more...less...
Funding and sponsorship: Ocean Harvest Ltd, the British Phycological Society, the International Phycological Society, the Phycological Society of America, and the Korean Phycological Society kindly subvent AlgaeBase annually and AlgaeBase licenses its data to other websites to support its activities.
International Plant Names Index (IPNI) The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked.
more...less...
IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium.
The Plant List: a working list of all plant species The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species. It aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts).
more...less...
Collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Missouri Botanical Garden enabled the creation of The Plant List by combining multiple checklist data sets held by these institutions and other collaborators.