These are a selection of databases available online through FSU but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in biological science. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Biology Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Biological Sciences if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.
PubMed comprises over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. PNAS is published weekly in print, and daily online in PNAS Early Edition.
Applied Biological Sciences
Applied Physical Sciences
Biophysics and Computational Biology
Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
Immunology and Inflammation
Psychological and Cognitive Sciences
Resource URL: http://www.pnas.org/
Vendor: National Academy of Sciences
Subjects: General Science
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
The ProQuest SciTech Collection is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/scitechpremium?accountid=4840
Subjects: Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Information Technology, Material Science, Mechanical Engineering, Oceanography
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
The Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research (ACCSTR) at the University of Florida has developed the "Sea Turtle Online Bibliography." This online bibliography includes all aspects of sea turtle biology, conservation and management. Citations are from recognized bibliographic sources as well as "grey literature." (a href="http://accstr.ufl.edu/resources/online-bibliography/">http://accstr.ufl.edu/resources/online-bibliography/)
Zoological Record is the world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology. Using this database determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species, track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes, and keep up all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
This database is a comprehensive collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical literature. The database is updated daily with the full version refresh of the December 14, 2011 release by the U.S. National Library of Medicine to occur prior to March 13, 2012. Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more.
Covers oceanic science and nautical engineering including biological oceanography ecology physical and chemical oceanography marine geology geophysics geochemistry marine pollution nonliving marine resources navigation and communications maritime law desalination ships shipping and marine biology.
Physical and chemical oceanography
Nonliving marine resources
Navigation and communications
140 titles, including areas of astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology from 1984—abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full Text coverage begins in 1997.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=gft
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Exercise Science, Human Development & Family Science, General Science, Geology, Microbiology, Ocean Science, Physics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs