Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Electronic Resources

Databases & Effective Searching

Key Resources & Databases

These are a selection of databases available online through FSU but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in biological science. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Biology Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Biological Sciences if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.

MEDLINE (PubMed)
PubMed comprises over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Nature
A scientific journal which covers the areas of chemistry, physical sciences, life sciences, and others. Nature is one of the most cited journals in the sciences.

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (PNAS) This link opens in a new window
PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. PNAS is published weekly in print, and daily online in PNAS Early Edition.
Topics include:
Applied Biological Sciences
Applied Mathematics
Applied Physical Sciences
Astronomy
Biochemistry
Biophysics and Computational Biology
Cell Biology
Chemistry
Anthropology
Computer Sciences
Developmental Biology
Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
Ecology
Economic Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Evolution
Genetics
Geology
Geophysics
Immunology and Inflammation
Mathematics
Medical Sciences
Microbiology
Molecular Biology
Neuroscience
Pharmacology
Physics
Physiology
Plant Biology
Political Sciences
Population Biology
Psychological and Cognitive Sciences
Social Sciences
Statistics
Sustainability Science
Systems Biology

Abbreviation: pnas
Vendor: National Academy of Sciences
Coverage: 1914Current
Subjects: *General Science
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest SciTech Collection is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full-text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
Abbreviation: pstc
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Computer Science, Earth Science, Engineering, Information Technology, Material Science, Oceanography
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Find Full Text

Often databases and indexes only provide a citation. To find the full text of an article:

Click in a database or "Find it @ FSU" in Google Scholar to be automatically redirected.
Enter citation information into FSU's Citation Linker.
Search the Library Catalog for the title of the journal. The catalog record may have a link to the journal's e-text or list of print holdings.
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan

Google Scholar Search

Search partial and complete citations in Google Scholar for fast connection to chemistry resources both online and in the University Libraries catalog.

Related guide: Google Scholar