Skip to main content

FAMU-FSU College of Engineering

a guide for engineering students and faculty to find relevant library materials and other types of information to conduct their research.

Current News in Engineering

Loading ...

Welcome to the FAMU-FSU College of Engineering LibGuide

Welcome to the FSU library Engineering research guide. This guide is dedicated to navigating the various engineering databases, journals, and articles provided by Florida State University (FSU) Libraries. Please take a look around. There are many resources available and if you have any questions, your subject librarians are happy to help. Our main STEM Library locations are Dirac Science Library and FAMU-FSU College of Engineering Library. FSU's main library is the Robert M. Strozier Library. 

Introductory Resources

Begin your research by exploring these core engineering databases.

Compendex (Engineering Village): Covers significant engineering and technical literature from journals (over 3,600), technical reports, engineering society publications, books, and conference proceedings and papers (over 15.8 million records, with more than 650,000 added annually). (additional details)

IEEE Xplore: Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Also called IEEE/IEE Electronic Library. (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)

ASTM Compass: ‚ÄčASTM Compass allows for the retrieval of American Society for Testing and Materials‚Äč Standards. ASTM Compass also includes reports, books and other publications from ASTM. 

Web of Science: Includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text. Previously know as Web of Knowledge. (Tutorials)

SAE Mobilus: SAE Mobilus includes resources covering a wide range of technologies surrounding the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries. Included are aerospace standards, ground vehicle standards, aerospace material specifications, technical papers, eBooks, magazines, videos, and journals.

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in an innovative video format. JoVE takes advantage of video technology to capture and transmit the multiple facets and intricacies of life science research. The video-articles in JoVE visualize experiments in life sciences laboratories including medical procedures. JoVE films and edits videos of researchers performing experimental techniques at universities in the fields of biology, medicine, chemistry, and physics.

Engineering Librarian

Denise A. Wetzel's picture
Denise A. Wetzel
Contact:
Paul A. M. Dirac Science Library
(850) 644-3079

Accessing FAMU Resources while at the COE Campus

To access FAMU Library Resources, you must sign on to one of the FAMU/FSU College of Engineering desktop computers located around the building. If you have any problems you can contact the Engineering Library Service Desk - (850) 410-6401 - for assistance.

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706