Research Guides: FAMU-FSU College of Engineering: Civil & Environmental Engineering

Student Organizations

These are some student organizations relating to both Civil and Environmental Engineering.

Electronic Resources

These are a selection of databases available online through FSU and FAMU, but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in Engineering. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Engineering Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Engineering if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item

Environmental Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International literature on technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety and energy production.
Coverage includes:
- Agricultural equipment and methods
- Arctic and tropical engineering
- Coastal engineering
- Environmental impact and protection
- Hazardous materials
- Heat exchangers
- Hydroelectric power
- Internal combustion engines
- Mines and quarry equipment
- Nuclear power plants
Abbreviation: envengabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1990–Current
Subjects: Engineering
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Continues Mechanical Engineering Abstracts and provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serial's literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.
Subject coverage:
Aerospace
Automotive
Energy
Railway
Naval and marine
Industrial and manufacturing processes
Forensics
Design principles
Mathematics

Abbreviation: mechtransabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Engineering
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus includes resources covering a wide range of technologies surrounding the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries. Included are aerospace standards, ground vehicle standards, aerospace material specifications, technical papers, books, magazines, videos, and journals.
Abbreviation: saemobil
Vendor: SAE International
Subjects: Engineering
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Reports, Standards
Tallahassee-Leon County Geographic Information Systems This link opens in a new window
The Geographic Information Systems (GIS) program for the City of Tallahassee, the Leon County Board of County Commissioners, and the Leon County Property Appraiser's Office.
Abbreviation: tcgi
Vendor: Tallahassee-Leon County GIS
Subjects: Engineering, Geography, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps, Open Access
TerraFly This link opens in a new window
TerraFly is a technology and tools for visualization and querying of geospatial data. The visualization component of the system provides users with the experience of virtual "flight" over maps comprised of aerial and satellite imagery overlaid with geo-referenced data. The data drilling and querying component of the system allows the users to easily explore geospatial data, to create geospatial queries, and get instant answers supported by high-performance multidimensional search mechanisms. TerraFly's server farm ingests, geo-locates, cleanses, mosaics, and cross-references 40TB of basemap data and user-specific data streams. TerraFly's Application Programming Interface allows rapid deployment of interactive Web applications and has been used to produce systems for disaster mitigation, ecology, real estate, tourism, and municipalities.
Abbreviation: tfly
Vendor: Florida International University
Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, Engineering, Geography, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

FAMU-FSU College of Engineering

Student Organizations

Electronic Resources

Current news in Civil & Environmental Engineering