Research Guides: FAMU-FSU College of Engineering: Start Your Research HERE

Catalog Search

Finding Databases

Some starting Databases:

SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus includes resources covering a wide range of technologies surrounding the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries. Included are aerospace standards, ground vehicle standards, aerospace material specifications, technical papers, books, magazines, videos, and journals.
Abbreviation: saemobil
Vendor: SAE International
Subjects: Engineering
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Reports, Standards
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Nature
A scientific journal which covers the areas of chemistry, physical sciences, life sciences, and others. Nature is one of the most cited journals in the sciences.

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (PNAS) This link opens in a new window
PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. PNAS is published weekly in print, and daily online in PNAS Early Edition.
Topics include:
Applied Biological Sciences
Applied Mathematics
Applied Physical Sciences
Astronomy
Biochemistry
Biophysics and Computational Biology
Cell Biology
Chemistry
Anthropology
Computer Sciences
Developmental Biology
Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
Ecology
Economic Sciences
Engineering
Environmental Sciences
Evolution
Genetics
Geology
Geophysics
Immunology and Inflammation
Mathematics
Medical Sciences
Microbiology
Molecular Biology
Neuroscience
Pharmacology
Physics
Physiology
Plant Biology
Political Sciences
Population Biology
Psychological and Cognitive Sciences
Social Sciences
Statistics
Sustainability Science
Systems Biology

Abbreviation: pnas
Vendor: National Academy of Sciences
Coverage: 1914–Current
Subjects: *General Science
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest SciTech Collection is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full-text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
Abbreviation: pstc
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Computer Science, Earth Science, Engineering, Information Technology, Material Science, Oceanography
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Finding Peer Reviewed Articles with OneSearch

Engineering Librarian

Kassidy Hof-Mahoney

(she/her)

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering