Skip to main content
Safety Info on Particular Chemicals
Hazardous Substances Data Bank
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB) is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed toxicology data for about 5,000 chemicals.
Provincial Occupational Health & Safety Services' Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) Database.
OSHA Occupational Chemical Database
OSHA maintains this chemical database as a convenient reference for the occupational safety and health community. It compiles information from several government agencies and organizations.
A resource to search databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases
How to Find Protocols & Methods
Protocols and methods describe details of scientific experiments and the procedures. To find specific protocols and methods, you may want to search article databases, and check out the Methodology section of articles in your areas of your interest. Books and dissertations are good sources to find the protocols and methods. If a protocol or method that you are looking for is not available at FSU Libraries, you can request it through the FSU InterLibrary Loan service.
Databases to find Protocols or Methods
SAGE Research Methods Online*
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools
Web Resources for Lab and Field Safety
Laboratory Biosecurity Handbook by
Call Number: e-Book
Publication Date: 2007
Shows institutions how to develop and implement a biosecurity plan, and helps ensure that all components are included in the overall system, whether existing or new.
Lab Safety : Best Practices
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety (5th ed.) by
Call Number: Dirac Reference QD51.C73 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Provides information on planning and building a facility, developing an organization infrastructure, planning for emergencies and contingencies, choosing the correct equipment, developing operational plans, and meeting regulatory requirements.
Lees' Process Safety Essentials by
Publication Date: 2013
Lees' Process Safety Essentials is a single-volume digest presenting the critical, practical content from Lees' Loss Prevention for day-to-day use and reference. This book provides a convenient summary of the main content of Lees', primarily drawn from the hazard identification, assessment, and control content of volumes one and two. Users can access Essentials for day-to-day reference on topics including plant location and layout; human factors and human error; fire, explosion and toxic release; engineering for sustainable development; and much more.
Personal Protective Equipment for Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Hazards by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Describes how PPE (personal protective equipment) is designed, selected, and used in today's emergency response environment where users may need to be protected against deliberately used chemical, biological, or radiological agents in terrorism or warfare scenarios as well as more traditional hazards.