Research Guides: FAMU-FSU College of Engineering: Finding Articles

Getting Help

Introductory Resources

Begin your research by exploring these core engineering databases.

Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Covers significant engineering and technical literature from journals (over 3,600), technical reports, engineering society publications, books, and conference proceedings and papers (over 15.8 million records, with more than 650,000 added annually). Access ends December 31, 2024.
Tutorials:
EngineeringVillage YouTube channel

Abbreviation: compendix
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1988–Current
Subjects: Chemistry, Engineering, Material Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Proceedings, Reports

Chemistry
Engineering
Material Science
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current and draft IEEE standards.
Topic areas:
Aerospace
Bioengineering
Communication, Networking & Broadcasting
Components, Circuits, Devices & Systems
Computing & Processing (Hardware/Software)
Engineered Materials, Dielectrics & Plasmas
Engineering Profession
Fields, Waves & Electromagnetics
General Topics for Engineers (Math, Science & Engineering)
Geoscience
Nuclear Engineering
Photonics & Electro-Optics
Power, Energy, & Industry Applications
Robotics & Control Systems
Signal Processing & Analysis
Transportation

Abbreviation: ieee
Vendor: IEEE
Coverage: 1988–Current
Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Material Science
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Proceedings, Standards, Testing / Tutorials
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass is an online subscription platform that helps manage change and increase staff productivity. Compass provides access to the most up-to-date standards and research, along with productivity tools for sharing, version comparison, and annotating.
Abbreviation: astm
Vendor: ASTM
Subjects: Engineering
Type: E-Journal Collections
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus includes resources covering a wide range of technologies surrounding the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries. Included are aerospace standards, ground vehicle standards, aerospace material specifications, technical papers, books, magazines, videos, and journals.
Abbreviation: saemobil
Vendor: SAE International
Subjects: Engineering
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Reports, Standards

Engineering Librarian

Kassidy Hof-Mahoney

(she/her)

Email Me

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering