Research Guides: FAMU-FSU College of Engineering: Chemical & Biomedical Engineering

Electronic Resources

These are a selection of databases available online through FSU and FAMU, but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in Engineering. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Engineering Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Engineering if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.

Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Covers significant engineering and technical literature from journals (over 3,600), technical reports, engineering society publications, books, and conference proceedings and papers (over 15.8 million records, with more than 650,000 added annually). Access ends December 31, 2024.
Tutorials:
EngineeringVillage YouTube channel

Abbreviation: compendix
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1988–Current
Subjects: Chemistry, Engineering, Material Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Proceedings, Reports

Chemistry
Engineering
Material Science
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
SciFinder-n (see Additional Info for first time access) This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n (SFn) is the new version of SciFinder (sometimes called SciFinder-web). This new and improved search engine has a different interface and search algorithm but provides the same great access to data and research.
First time users will need to create a SciFinder account .

Tutorials:
SciFinder-n Training

Abbreviation: scifn
Vendor: American Chemical Society
Subjects: Chemistry, Engineering
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Virology and AIDS Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants. Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS.
Abbreviation: virology
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982–Current
Subjects: Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Engineering, Chemistry, *General Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs
Toxicology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts covering issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.
Abbreviation: toxicology
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1981–Current
Subjects: Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, Psychology, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs, Standards
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Student Organizations at the FAMU-FSU College of Engineering

These are some student organizations relating to both Chemical and Biomedical Engineering.

FAMU-FSU American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AICHE)
Association for Chemical Biomedical Engineering Graduate Students (CBEGS)
Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES)
Polymer and Polymer Materials Science and Engineering (Poly-PMSE)
Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE)

Chemical Engineering

These are some chemistry databases to help with your research:

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society, (ACS), publishes more than 40 peer-reviewed journals with cutting-edge articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines including energy, fuels, toxicology, agriculture, food, and biochemistry from 1996–Current.
Tutorials:
ACS Web Editions guide (PDF)
Pair a Device (PDF)
Search and Browse (03:46 minutes)

Abbreviation: acsweb
Vendor: ACS Publications
Coverage: 1996–Current
Subjects: Chemistry
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Index Chemicus This link opens in a new window
Index Chemicus provides researchers with quick, powerful access to the chemical compound information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings. Covering more than 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals, Index Chemicus® is text- and substructure-searchable, and offers full graphical summaries, important reaction diagrams, and complete bibliographic information. Index Chemicus can also be searched with other citation databases in the Web of Science platform.
Abbreviation: ic
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: Chemistry
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Biomedical Enginnering

These are some Biology databases to help with your research:

Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Biological Science Collection offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biology, biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Tutorials:
ProQuest Biological Science Collection LibGuide

Abbreviation: bio-sci
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1982–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
BIOSIS Citation Index: 1969–present This link opens in a new window
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Each year BIOSIS adds more than 500,000 references covering many disciplines including: Biology, General; Neurology; Neuroscience; Physiology; Agronomy; Biochemistry & Biophysics; Cell Biology; Genetics; Invertebrate Biology, Zoology; Multidisciplinary Life & Medical Sciences; Earth & Environmental Sciences; Food Science & Technology; Microbiology; Anatomy; Developmental Biology; Plant Sciences; Embryology; Histology; Molecular Biology; Neuroanatomy; Pharmacology, Marine Biology.
Abbreviation: biosisci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1969–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Tutorials:
Getting Started with BioOne Complete (pdf)
Searching BioOne Complete

Abbreviation: bioone
Vendor: BioOne
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs