Research Guides: Florida Government: Home

Welcome

The Florida State University Library has been a depository of Florida state documents since 1968. The Florida State Documents Depository Program was established in 1967 and is administered by the State Library of Florida. Currently there are 21 depository libraries in the state of Florida.

Print Materials Update

Scholars Commons in Strozier Library is currently undergoing renovations.

Print Government information materials will be unavailable for browsing during this time. These materials can be requested when the floor becomes accessible to collections staff. Most of our print government information materials are available electronically at govinfo.gov and via our research guides. During the renovation process please use our web resources, contact us when needed, and consult this page for updates.

Key Library Databases

DemographicsNow
DemographicsNow is a multi-level database offering a variety of simple, easy-to-use demographic data reports. Users can customize results by geography.
Fifty State Agency Database Registry (GODORT)
A registry of state government produced databases for all 50 states. This is a wiki, created and maintained by government documents librarians
Florida Documents Index
Identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida Public Documents Depository Program. FSU does not use the same call numbers displayed in this database.
PALMM
PALMM (Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials) is a program of the libraries of the Florida Board of Education's Division of Colleges and Universities (DCU) designed to provide support to individual and cooperative digital library initiatives.
Social Explorer
Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data . Can create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed.

Selected Websites & Databases

Florida Counties
Links to Florida county sites from PALMM
Florida Commission on the Status of Women
"The Florida Commission on the Status of Women is a nonpartisan board, statutorily created in 1991, consisting of 22 appointed members. The Commission is administratively housed in the Office of the Attorney General."
Florida Digital Projects- FSU College of Law
This site has links to some very useful historical and legislative digital collections.
Florida Environments Online
Florida History
This site contains many historical Florida government documents from the University of Florida Digital Collections.
Florida State Guide
Compilation of links to Florida digital materials available from the Library of Congress Web site.
Introduction to Florida Government
State Library & Archives of Florida
P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History
UFDC- University of Florida Digital Collections
More than 300 digital collections that include Florida and local history, maps, agriculture, literature, science and much more.

Key Search Engines & Sites

Florida Electronic Federal Depository Library (FEFDL)
Local and state information
more...less...
University of Florida Library
Florida Government Information Locator
List of government agency sites
more...less...
State Library & Archives of Florida
Find an Agency
MyFlorida.com
State Agency Databases (Florida)
GODORT wiki
Legal Resources
State Library & Archives of Florida
Florida Has A Right To Know
Gives the public access to state employee salary information, six-figure retirement benefits for state and local employees and other frequently requested information.
State Library and Archives of Florida
The State Library and Archives of Florida has many Florida government documents on this part of the Internet Archive.

Directories

Guide to Florida Government
Earlier and current years available in STROZIER, Documents Florida Ground Floor -- JK4430.F56
Florida Resource Directory
"One-stop source for learning about the latest state and many federal programs and resources to help your local community.
The Directory will help rural and distressed urban communities, as well as community based organizations find and access sources of assistance."
Membership of the Florida House of Representatives, 1845-2012
Florida County Government Guide
Information on Florida county government structure

Research Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy