Rare Book Collections

Augustine Saint, Bishop of Hippo; Basil Saint, Bishop of Caesarea ca. 329-379; Cranmer, Thomas 1489-1556; Jugge, Richard ca. 1514-1577; Parker, Matthew 1504-1575; London: Richard Jugge, 1568. https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01FALSC_FSU/1jr7eaj/alma990271162470306576.

Milton S. Carothers was a Tallahassee native and FSU graduate who later returned to FSU to become the Presbyterian campus minister from 1982-1999. He was a collector of early English bibles and other rare books and donated his collection to FSU in 1982 as a memorial collection for his mother and father, Julia Stover and Milton Washington Carothers. Collection highlights include a page from the Gutenberg Bible, an incunable Latin Bible printed by Johann Froben (1491), a 1560 Geneva “Breeches” Bible, and a second impression of the first edition of the King James Bibles (1611).

Steps for searching the Carothers Collection:

1. Open the library catalog Advanced Search
2. Type “Carothers Collection” in the keyword box, including quotes
3. Select “Strozier, Special Collections” from the Location drop-down menu
4. Click “Search”

Items from the collection can also be viewed on the digital exhibit Book of Kings, King of Books: Early Printed Bibles from the Carothers Collection.

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Spring 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm