Skip to Main Content

Rare Book Collections

An introduction to the major rare book collections held in FSU Special Collections & Archives

John MacKay Shaw Collection of Childhood in Poetry

undefined

Happy Days Childhood. Fireside Series. Boston: Lothrop, 1904. https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01FALSC_FSU/pag4dr/alma990274490340306576.

John MacKay Shaw (1897-1984) was a Scottish-born American businessman and philanthropist who collected works of British and American poetry related to the theme of childhood. His collection of over 5,000 first and rare editions of major poets, Victorian gift books, children’s periodicals, and reference works was donated to FSU Libraries and 1959 and has continued to grow, now encompassing over 25,000 volumes

Searching the Shaw Collection

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Strozier, Special Coll"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Fall Hours

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Tuesday 12 - 5pm
Wednesday 12 - 5pm
Thursday 12 - 5pm

Monday and Friday by appointment 

Rare Books Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Duke
Contact:
Special Collections
Strozier Library
(850) 644-1967
Social: Twitter Page
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706