The rare books collections at FSU Special Collections & Archives comprise over 90,000 volumes of printed materials ranging in date from the fifteenth to the twenty-first centuries. These books represent significant examples from the history of text technology, as well as areas of particular historical, geographical, and sociological importance. Collecting strengths include 19th century English and American poetry, Napoleon and the French Revolution, Scottish history and literature, children’s literature, early travel and discovery of the Americas, early English bibles, 20th century avant-garde literature, and artists’ books.
Special Collections & Archives welcomes the use of its material by patrons and researchers in our two reading rooms, the Special Collections Research Center Reading Room and the Claude Pepper Library Reading Room. To learn more about visiting SCA, please click on the following link: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit
Researchers are encouraged to contact Special Collections & Archives staff regarding use of Special Collections & Archives materials in class assignments, scholarship, personal research, and general inquiry. For research assistance, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Researchers can also request in-person and virtual meetings with Special Collections & Archives staff. To book an appointment, please use our online tool: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit#book-an-appointment
We invite instructors teaching at all levels in all departments to consider a class visit to Special Collections & Archives during your course. Visits to SCA locations can include any of the following content, directed by you and/or SCA staff:
To place a request for a class visit to the Special Collections Research Center or Claude Pepper Library, please use our online form: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/class-visit-request-form
To further discuss the possibilities of a Special Collections & Archives class visit, please use our online tool to book a research consultation: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit#book-an-appointment
FSU Libraries Catalog Advanced Search - https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home&mode=advanced
The FSU Libraries Catalog is the best source of information on rare books collections. It also includes description of some archival collections, with links out to finer description in the Finding Aid Database (see below).
Finding Aid Database - https://archives.lib.fsu.edu
The Finding Aid Database is the best source of information about our archives collections.
Digital Library - https://diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library
The FSU Digital Library Includes digital copies of Special Collections & Archives items, born-digital collections, and digital objects hosted for other organizations
Keywords are what we use to search databases, but rarely does a single keyword produce perfect or complete results. Resources may not be described how you expect, and this is why approaching a search with multiple terms will produce the best outcome.
When formulating keywords, focus on:
Research Question: What is the history of the Everglades and how are they a unique ecosystem?
Keywords: Everglades, Florida, swamp, marsh, wetlands, mangroves, ecosystem, flood control, Lake Okeechobee, Florida Bay, cypress, Miami, manatees, alligators, sawgrass, Kissimmee River, biodiversity, coastal prairie, aquifer, environmental restoration
Main SCA Website
Email SCA Staff
FSU Library Catalog
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Strozier, Special Coll"
FSU Finding Aid Database
FSU Digital Library
Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours
SPRING 2023: All visits to the reading room are by appointment only
SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St