Skip to main content

Rare Book Collections

An introduction to the major rare book collections held in FSU Special Collections & Archives

Julia Stover and Milton Washington Carothers Memorial Collection of Bibles and Rare Books

undefined

Augustine Saint, Bishop of Hippo; Basil Saint, Bishop of Caesarea ca. 329-379; Cranmer, Thomas 1489-1556; Jugge, Richard ca. 1514-1577; Parker, Matthew 1504-1575; London: Richard Jugge, 1568. https://fsu.catalog.fcla.edu/permalink.jsp?23FS027116247.

Milton S. Carothers was a Tallahassee native and FSU graduate who later returned to FSU to become the Presbyterian campus minister from 1982-1999. He was a collector of early English bibles and other rare books and donated his collection to FSU in 1982 as a memorial collection for his mother and father, Julia Stover and Milton Washington Carothers. Collection highlights include a page from the Gutenberg Bible, an incunable Latin Bible printed by Johann Froben (1491), a 1560 Geneva “Breeches” Bible, and a second impression of the first edition of the King James Bibles (1611).

Locating Materials in the Carothers Collection

Steps for searching the Carothers Collection:

  1. Open the library catalog Advanced Search
  2. Type “Carothers Collection” in the keyword box, including quotes
  3. Select “Strozier, Special Collections” from the Location drop-down menu
  4. Click “Search”

Items from the collection can also be viewed on the digital exhibit Book of Kings, King of Books: Early Printed Bibles from the Carothers Collection.

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives spaces are closed to the public at this time. For latest updates on SCA public services, please visit our Services Page or contact us at lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.

Online
lib.fsu.edu/specialcollections
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu
FSU Library Catalog
fsu.catalog.fcla.edu
Use Advanced Search to limit Location to “Strozier, Special Collections”
Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu
FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/digital_library


Rare Books Librarian

Rachel Duke's picture
Rachel Duke
Contact:
Special Collections
Strozier Library
(850) 644-1967
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706