Skip to Main Content

Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas

Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas

The McGregor Collection consists of hundreds of volumes pertaining to the early discovery and exploration of the Americas. This collection was acquired through the McGregor fund accepted by the university in 1934. Sixteen colleges were chosen to participate in the McGregor fund, each supplied with $500 every year for ten years to be matched by the university. The money was to be used towards purchasing rare books on early America for university libraries.

The research guide is based on the original guide created in 1954 by the librarian of Florida State University at the time, Louise Richardson.

Tracy W. McGregor

Tracy W. McGregor built his wealth on late 19th century industrialization, and used much of his fortune for philanthropy. McGregor was passionate about early American history and wanted to incentivize college libraries to build on their collection of early American rare books.

Locating Materials in the McGregor Collection

Steps for searching for materials from the McGregor Collection in FSU Libraries online discovery tool, OneSearch:

  1. Open the library catalog Advanced Search
  2. Type “McGregor Collection” in the keyword box, including quotes
  3. Click “Search”
  4. Under the Library filter in the left side menu select “FSU Special Collections and Archives” 
  5. There should be approximately 230 results
  6. All materials can be viewed in person in the FSU Special Collections & Archives Reading Room in Strozier Library

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2023

Monday by appointment
Tuesday by appointment
Wednesday by appointment
Thursday 12pm - 6pm
Friday by appointment

Book an Appointment Online 

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

The Florida State University Libraries
FIND & BORROW | RESEARCH & PUBLISH | VISIT & STUDY | COLLECTIONS | ABOUT | HELP & SUPPORT

© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706