Research Guides: Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas: Discovery and Exploration

Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas

Description

This sub-section includes maps and atlases from early European exploration of the Americas, as well as records from the Jamestown settlement. There are accounts from Spanish, French, and English explorations and colonies in the early colonial period.

Highlights

Gerardi Mercatoris atlas by Gerhard Mercator
Call Number: Vault (Double Oversize) G1007.M4 1630
Publication Date: 1630
This is one of the first Mercator atlases created by Gerhard Mercator himself. Mercator is known for his flat projections of the globe and straight longitude and latitude lines, which are still used in mapmaking today.
Brevis narratio eorum quae in Florida Americae provi[n]cia Gallis acciderunt : secunda in illam navigatione, duce Renato de Laudo[n]niere classis praefecto, anno MDLXIIII : quae est secunda pars Americae, additae figurae & incolarum eicones ibidem ad vivu by Theodor de Bry
Call Number: Vault (Oversize) ; G159 .B7 1591
Publication Date: 1591
This book is the second in a series of volumes made by the engraver and printer, Theodor de Bry. The larger series documented European travel to the east and west Indies by various explorers and was illustrated by de Bry, who combined documentary images made by artists who accompanied European explorers with his own artistic renditions. This volume focuses on the French voyages to Florida from the account of René Laudonnière and based on watercolors by Jacques Le Moyne de Morgues. FSU currently has several of de Bry's volumes in addition to this one.

Digital Copy of Brevis narratio eorum quae in Florida Americae in FSU's Digital LIbrary

Theatro del mondo di Abrahamo Ortelio : da lui poco inanzi la sua morte riueduto & di tavole nuove et commenti adorno & arricchito con la vita dell'autore by Abraham Ortelius
Call Number: Vault (Double Oversize); G1006 .T53 1612
Publication Date: 1612
This atlas was created by Abraham Ortelius, a Flemish cartographer known for his well-organized, detailed atlases. The title of the atlas can be translated to "Theater of the World." This version of the atlas has been translated into the Tuscan dialect (precursor to the modern Italian language), as Italy was the hub for mapmaking during this time.
L'histoire naturelle et generalle des Indes, isles, et terre ferme de la grand mer oceane by Gonzalo Fernández de Oviedo y Valdés
Call Number: Vault (Oversize); E141 .F47 1556
Publication Date: 1556
Historia general de los hechos de los castellanos en las islas i tierra firme del mar oceano. by Antonio de Herrera y Tordesillas
Call Number: Vault (Oversize); E141 .H59 1730
Publication Date: 1728-30. v. 1, 1730
The principal navigations by Richard Hakluyt
Call Number: Vault (Oversize); G240.H2 1599 v.1-3
Publication Date: 1599-1600
La Florida del Inca by Garcilaso de la Vega
Call Number: General Collection, Florida; E125.S7 V44 1956
Publication Date: 1956
Historia general del Perv trata el descvbrimiento del; y como lo ganaron los Españoles : Las guerras ciuiles que huuo entre Piçarros, y Almagros, sobre la partija de la tierra. Castigo y leuantamieto de tiranos: y otros sucessos particulares que en la his by Garcilaso de la Vega
Call Number: Vault; F3442 .G23 1617
Publication Date: 1617
The Generall Historie of Virginia, New England, and the Summer isles by John Smith
Call Number: Vault (Oversize); F229.S61 1624
Publication Date: 1624
The historie of the West Indies: containing the actes and adventures of the Spaniards, which have conquered and peopled those countries, inriched with varietie of pleasant relation of the manners, ceremonies, lawes, governments, and warres of the Indians by Pietro Martire d'Anghiera
Call Number: Vault; E141 .A60 1600z
Publication Date: 16--?
Purchas his Pilgrimes, in five bookes ... by Samuel Purchas
Call Number: Vault (Oversize); G159 .P98
Publication Date: 1625
The true travels, adventures and observations of Captaine Iohn Smith, in Europe, Asia, Affrica, and America, from anno Domini 1593, to 1629. His accidents ad sea-fights in the straights; his service and strategems of warre in Hungaria, Transilvania, Walla by John Smith
Call Number: Vault (Oversize); D244.8.S5 A3 1630
Publication Date: 1630
Carte de la Louisiane et du cours du Mississippi by Guillaume de L'Isle
Call Number: Map Case 3 ; G3701 .S535 1974
Publication Date: 1718
A voyage to the Pacific Ocean : undertaken by the command of His Majesty for making discoveries in the northern hemisphere : performed under the direction of Captains Cook, Clerke, and Gore in His Majesty's ships the Resolution and Discovery, in the years by James Cook
Call Number: Vault (Oversize); G420 .C69 1784
Publication Date: 1785
Histoire des Yncas, rois du Perou, depuis le premier Ynca Manco Capac, fils du soleil, jusqu'à Atahualpa dernier Ynca: où l'on voit leur etablissement, leur religion, leurs loix, leur conquêtes ... by Garcilaso de la Vega
Call Number: Vault; F3442 .G275 1737
Publication Date: 1737
The coast of West Florida and Louisiana ; The Peninsula and Gulf of Florida or Channel of Bahama with the Bahama Islands by Thomas Jefferys
Call Number: Map Case 4; G3930 1775 .J4
Publication Date: 1775 i.e. 1776

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm